We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot not far from Whitehouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YS Falls

YS Falls
2 Market St. | South Coast, Santa Cruz, Jamaica
876/634-2455
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$90*
and up
Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day...
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Santa Cruz
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful series of waterfalls just off the Black River, lined with plenty of picnic areas for pleasant afternoon lunches al fresco.
St. Albert
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot not far from Whitehouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was a lovely way to spend a day off the resort. The drive to the falls was very comfortable thru the rolling countryside.The falls were absolutely stunning. We walked up beside the falls and peacefully watched the water tumble gently down over the rocks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    163
    40
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am so happy we went here instead of Dunn Falls. I heard that at Dunn Falls you are pretty much hiking in water the whole time which would not have worked since in our group we had 1 nonswimmer. YS Falls was beautiful. There are several pools you can go in if you don't want to get into the waterfalls. There is a shop there with some snacks and trinkets. There are several bathrooms and changing areas but there can be lines during busy times. A beautiful place to visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great time at YS Falls!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We traveled here from our resort in Montego Bay via Clive's Transport Service and we had a wonderful time! The ride was long from Montego Bay but once we arrived, it was well worth the wait! We went zip-lining while we were there and the staff that managed it was wonderful and helpful. The falls were beautiful! The guides there helped us find the right spots to climb and showed us areas that we could jump into the pools of water. YS Falls is a lot less crowded than Dunn's River. All in all a great time and a must see if you are visiting Jamaica.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You'll Thank Me Later!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just a bit north of Black River you'll start getting into the mountains and the views are spectacular! The lush valleys really do have some wonderful views. This series of waterfalls provides the opportunity to zip line which takes about 45-60 minutes. The staff have great personalities and not only keep everyone safe but also keeping you laughing! You will enjoy the zip line even if-like me- you have never done it before. If you get there early (9am) there is little to no wait- a big bonus! The falls are beautiful and the area is air conditioned by the cool water. You can swim in the natural pools and jump off a rope swing. There are very nicely landscaped areas to eat or just relax. You can choose covered picnic areas or the mown grassy areas. Bring your camera because there is a great picture everywhere you look....
Have fun... you can thank me later!
PS. Plan on spending 3 hours at the Falls and at least an hour driving each way. (the drive is part of the fun-it's quite different from anything stateside)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Refreshing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Really enjoyed this trip. Good views along the way and the ride on the tractor up to the falls was good. We went up each level, jumped in and swam, was very shaded and really refreshing. Very good for all swimming capabilities. Wasn't as 'commercial' as Dunns River so was more relaxing. We went on an organised tour so didn't have as long as we wished as we had to get back down for lunch which wasn't that great and overpriced. If going independently I would bring packed lunch. Beautiful place, very lucky people who own it! Bring water shoes :-))

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YS Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Jamaica, Caribbean
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to YS Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YS Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.