We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YS Falls

YS Falls
2 Market St. | South Coast, Santa Cruz, Jamaica
876/634-2455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Santa Cruz
Type: Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful series of waterfalls just off the Black River, lined with plenty of picnic areas for pleasant afternoon lunches al fresco.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

ys falls was simply beautiful,we were driven to st elizabeth by our driver,then went on a tractor drawn jitney,we drove through a working farm,lots of cows and horses,trees and orchards.when we arrived at the falls we were simply amazed,forrest ,that had zipling,lush gardens and the most breath taking falls,we loved it was much more lovely than dunns river.great for picnics and swimming and try walking up the fall stairs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    149
    38
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting falls in beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited the YS Falls in January 2013 and enjoyed our visit. Our trip was combined with a Black River cruise which was excellent and it was interesting to see the crocodiles. The grounds around the YS Falls are very attractive and there are pools in the falls which you can swim in...the water is lovely. But it is very busy and touristy, the Mayfield Falls are much more beautiful and feel more natural, you actually travel up through the falls, swimming and climbing all the way.....it is way better, a great experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Booking to YS Falls? Pick good transportation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

YS Falls itself is beautiful...it is open and airy with huge canopy views and incredible falls. The grounds around the falls are well manicured and with many spots to find that you can just enjoy the day. Arriving early in the AM beats the heavier tourist rush, but most people just come see the falls and go. there are mineral pools and other lawns and pools to enjoy off the beaten path. Tubing is available when water is higher (we missed out) and there is Zip-lining. Rope swinging into deep pools and cliff jumping. the whole experience comes highly recommended... a do not miss!
Another part of what made it enjoyable was the great service we received from a specific driver.
There were 6 adults in our party, and we booked YS falls twice because of the great time we had, with no hassle trips from our experienced and safe driver Kevin Coleman.
The roads from Negril to YS falls and Black river are not great, due to the roads, it can be a little stressful.The trip there shows you alot of Jamaica as well.
You definitely want someone who knows what they are doing. Kevin was a polite and generous host with none of the subterfuge and solicitation you sometimes get from other drivers. He helped us out when we needed assistance and let us have our space at the same time. He provided a fair price, and even a bit of a deal the second time around, as well provided us with an ice filled cooler. It was a nice air conditioned van in good shape, that could seat about 8 comfortably 10 if needed. Choose your transportation wisely for max enjoyment !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Must see in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip. I wish we had more time!! One tip: let the guys take your photo, they get some good shots that you would never get yourselves. Make sure to tip them well! They do a good job.

If you get any motion sickness, like myself, make sure to take something! It is a windy/ bumby road!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful YS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The falls are in a gorgeous, relaxed setting. You can take your time wandering through the various levels of the falls. Nice pools at the bottom to relax in after visiting the falls.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YS Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Jamaica, Caribbean
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to YS Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YS Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.