We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful wonder of the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YS Falls

YS Falls
2 Market St. | South Coast, Santa Cruz, Jamaica
876/634-2455
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$90*
and up
Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day...
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Santa Cruz
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful series of waterfalls just off the Black River, lined with plenty of picnic areas for pleasant afternoon lunches al fresco.
AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A beautiful wonder of the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We (a group of 3 couples) went to YS Falls 2 weeks ago and we had the time of our lives. Such a beautiful place to visit! We were lucky enough to have 2 young men who helped us by showing us the area, the fun places to jump, swim and crawl into the falls. The entire time the guys took our pictures for us and ensured our safety. Just a great experience, I highly recommend the side trip to see a great part of Jamaica.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    164
    40
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great 1/2 Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked the YS Falls and Zipline tour from Sandals WH. It was 4 hours long and the drive was about 20+ minutes each way. The zipline tour was short 5 zips, but was a blast. Zip 3 and 5 were the best. Zip 3 went over the falls and Zip 5 was straight down. After the zip a local guide took us through the falls to get great picks and participate on the rope swings. The water was nice and refresher after the hot zip lines. We spent about 2 hours playing in the falls before heading back to the resort. Our tour guide Charlene and driver Steve did a wonderful job.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the one of the most stunningly beautiful places I have ever been to in my life!
We had a great guide, Orel, who walked with us, gave us tips on where to swim safely, and took TONS of pictures of us with our camera.
We did the rope swing, dropping into one of the highest waterfall pools. SUPER SCARY the first time, but definately do it!! We also jumped off the rocks at the edge of one tier into the next. SO MUCH FUN!!
We swam in the mineral springs pool and had jerk chicken with Red Stripe at the little lunch shack. BTW - meals and drinks were so reasonably priced!! $23 for 3 lunches and 3 Red Stripes!!
My advise: Bring water shoes, bring your camera, don't be afraid to go off the rope swing, and, if you have a good guide, tip him/her well.
There are very few excursions we do more than once. We like to see and different things. However, we'll definately be going back to YS Falls next year.
For an outstanding driver to get you there at a reasonable price, call Alrick with Your Jamaican Tour Guide. He has wonderful, fun, safe drivers and clean, reliable vehicles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a beautiful place, unfortunately the water levels were down, but I'm sure that it is even more magnificent when it is up. The food at the little restaurant was excellent and very well priced

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful place...we could have spent all day here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a tour with Reggae Tours (see separate review) to the YS Falls and Pelican Bar. The YS Falls are gorgeous!!! When you get to the property you take a tractor to the actual falls. There are employees who will be waiting over by the falls. You can request that they give you a "tour" of the falls. We joined up with another couple and had two guys leading us around the falls, one that actually got in the water and navigated for us, and one to take pictures of everything (we tipped them $10 each after they were so good). We jumped off the rope swing into the water...twice! It's scary at first, but don't pass, it's a lot of fun! The water is cold, but refreshing. If you have water shoes, WEAR THEM!! The rocks hurt my feet and ruined my pedicure. The whole area is so lush and tranquil. The property also has a pool you can lounge in. We were only there for a couple of hours, but probably could have spent the whole day there. We were very glad we went to the falls, we got some amazing pictures. They also have river tubing and ziplining. We didn't try either of those. This would be a great place for families as well as couples. We would definitely recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YS Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Jamaica, Caribbean
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to YS Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YS Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.