We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival the staff were pleasent enough and check in was quick. Once you check in you go through a door to a corridor where the rooms are located, as soon as you step into this corridor the smell is overwhelming, like a damp, musty awful smell, the as we were on the first floor we had to go to the stairwell, this also smelt awfull, not a very pleasent experience. It was at this point my heart started to sink a little! Once we found our room, the door handle was loose, on entering the room it smelt okay, and on the surface seemed clean enough, but when you look closer it really needs. Good clean, corners of the room, lampshades, corners of bathroom, we found some hairs in bath :(
The bed linen did seem clean and fresh which was a relief, but the beds (family room) were so hard and the pillows like rock! We were really uncomfortable all night.
I suppose for what we paid it was okay, but i wouldnot use travel lodge again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re truly sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned to a high level of cleanliness as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day. We would like to investigate your concerns further so please use the contact us section on our website to provide your contact and booking details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So myself, my girlfriend and our best friends arrived for a little break away from home, and we were bowled over with how helpful and friendly Daniel was!!! (We didn't catch a surname) He booked us in swiftly and told us about the discounts we were eligible for in the shop and Burger King, and as we had booked 2 rooms but at different times, they were seperate, Daniel went out of his way to put us in rooms opposite each other. He bent over backwards to ensure we had a good stay and we can only thank him for that!!! So polite, so friendly, and such a nice hotel!!! We will Definately be back soon!!!!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as was going to a concert and motorpoint areana and as it was during school holidays everything was booked up or expensive. Then found this travelodge, it was cheap and not too far out. Great value for money, clean and you get discount off other places (whsmiths, Costa, burger king etc). Staff were very friendly and helpful, printing me directions to and from the are areana.

Only problem was people arguing outside their rooms at 3am, but that was not the staff or travelodge fault.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this hotel to break up a journey. Recently redecoration has improved the look and comfort somewhat but it still a dated building. However it was more than adequate and reasonably priced too! The receptionist was very helpful in directing us to a local pub. Thanking her for that. For A one night stop over it is perfect.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had one of the best sleeps ever really comfy bed I'll be choosing this option again only negative is that there are no restaurants apart from fast food outlets and no bar facilities although these are not a reflection on travel lodge

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I stay here over night as we needed to be near to go and vist my brother who is in a nursing home I usual stay in premier inn but have stay here before and as I was only staying one night and got a discount decided to stay here the staff were friendly Are first room the spare bed had a big dent in the middle went down to say about it was told they did have a room with a broken bed in it which should not have being used got move to a another room which seem ok till I went to go to bed them found springs sticking through as it was quite late did not feel able to go and complain ended up sleeping on top of quilt with dressing grown to cover me up not ideal the room was clean but it was very hot in there and washing machine dryer going most of night in room next door would think twice before staying here again

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to be able to look into this and investigate further, so we can do this please can we kindly ask you to go to the ‘contact us’ page on our website to provide us with your contact and booking details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

this hotel served its purpose for what we needed, usually use the Travelodge near Cardiff airport but was fully booked on dates we wanted. had a good stay staff were very good and the rooms were very clean and comfortable, everything you need for an overnight stay

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Pontyclun Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.