We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant. Thank you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barry Gate

The Barry Gate
98 Main Street, Barry CF63 2HN, Wales
+44 1446 747421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 79 Restaurants in Barry
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant. Thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

After a gap of about two years, we had the chance to revisit Mamun and his team and their restaurant. Wonderful welcome, wonderful food, we will return soon. The food is exquisite, the welcome and service second to none. Thank you. See you soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
penarth
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Food excellent, atmosphere and service very poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've not been here for a year or so now, so decided to return as the food is always so good. Luckily it remains so. On arrival it wasn't obvious the staff had even noticed our presence. We couldn't tell who was in charge, if anyone. We requested a table for 2 and were asked to sit and wait. The entire room was empty except for another couple already eating. Just as our bottoms hit the sofa, our waiter returned and asked us to follow him. He gave us no choice of table, but the one he directed us to was fine by us. We were given menus and he left us, eventually returning to take a drinks order. We got the impression during the whole evening that they were very busy dealing with takeaway orders and that customers wishing to eat in were a nuisance and something they'd prefer to do without. It's never been so in the past. For starters, I ordered a king prawn puri and hubby the usual poppadoms and chutneys. The surly waiter couldn't cope with this request and kept saying "no starter" to my husband who kept repeating he'd just like the poppadoms to start. The poppadoms arrived, but the prawn puri was not delivered to the table until we'd finished every single scrap of poppadom. Ho hum. Hubby had a special biriani with plain madras sauce for his main dish and I asked for the veg korma, some sag paneer (or sag ponir as spelt on the Barrygate menu) and a peshwari naan. All were delicious, generous portions. Subtly flavoured, superb Indian food just as we like it. The restaurant started to fill up and the couple seated behind us got fed up with waiting for their mains to arrive. They discussed at length what they should do, and in the end she got up and went to ask where their food was. The place is starting to look tired and unloved - hubby said there were quite a few missing tiles off the walls in the gents toilet.. Will come back for a takeaway, but will think twice about paying more to eat in and not be well treated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, nice surroundings, great staff. Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Never had a bad meal from here, have eaten in and had take away on several occasions and have never had a complaint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Take Out Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although this is a very nice looking restaurant, I have only had take out from Barry Gate. I intend to have a sit down meal soon.

Staff are very friendly and professional. Always offer me a drink if waiting to collect. If orders by phone, pretty much ready when I arrive and if ordered on attendance, cooked very quickly. Open door for you on way out :)

Great menu with good variety inc specials. Very reasonably priced (poppadoms, dips, 2 mains, rice and naan about £20).

The most important bit for me though is quality and taste which are both of the highest standard. Lots of meat in main, no oily sauce, crisp veg and well seasoned.

When in Cardiff I use Cardomum which has a great reputation, and I think Barry Gate is even better!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good Quality food at a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a New Years Eve meal with special friends. The service was excellent and although the food took a while to arrive it was worth waiting for

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barry Gate also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Barry Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barry Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.