We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean; staff friendly; best hotel bed we have ever slept in; close to station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aberthaw House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aberthaw House Hotel to your Saves list
Aberthaw House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Porthkerry Road, Barry CF62 7AX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Waterloo, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean; staff friendly; best hotel bed we have ever slept in; close to station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Visiting from Canada we were delighted to find this hotel/bed and breakfast. Close to station with trains every 15 minutes to capital Cardiff. The staff were very helpful and even loaned me a laptop to check my e-mails. Very clean, super room and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and I traveled the world quite a bit. Breakfast delicious and freshly cooked. Walking distance to pubs and shopping. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
31
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

I went by earlier reviewers' comments and found them to be accurate. The room was spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately I didn't eat in the hotel but went into Barry town centre (I think it was the centre). It was a bit shoddy and run down but had an adequate meal in one of the pubs.
Being on a Weightwatchers diet, I opted for a not too excessive breakfast of bacon, tomato and mushroom. Three thick back rashers with a grilled tomato and good serving of mushrooms, fresh coffee and toast set me up for the day (bugger the diet).
I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Finding it was a bit difficult.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Attending a funeral is stressful & more so when you have to travel a distance & stay away. For us much of the pressure was obviated by being fortunate enough to stay at the Aberthaw House, whose owners most definitely go the extra mile for their guests. Not only was the room spotless but it had a very comfortable bed with every amenity, and the warmth of the welcome together with the kindness & courtesy shown to us by owners & staff alike was truly a revelation and it never faltered from welcome to goodbye.

Anna & Charlie Cassidy

  • Liked — The TLC for guests & their accommodation needs
  • Disliked — The volume of the breakfast radio
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

After having a disastrous time at the Mount Sorrel Hotel just 50 yards away - we were delighted that Aberthaw House had a room
for us.
What a difference - it is an older hotel, but retains much original charm, we were given the keys, told where our room was and to come down and ring the bell if there were any problems. They confirmed that coming in late wasn't a problem and gave us intructions on the locking of front door etc.
The room was delightful - so pristine and immaculatly clean - crisp white cotton bedding - compact modern bathroom - no complaints.

Beakfast was amazing in a traditional welsh dining room - the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They really made us feel welcome and we enjoyed their company.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms, friendliness of staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Would recommend this hotel!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberthaw House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberthaw House Hotel

Address: 28 Porthkerry Road, Barry CF62 7AX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aberthaw House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ABERTHAW HOUSE HOTEL, the friendliest hotel in Barry. Set in the charming West End of Barry only 10 minutes from the M4. We have the ideal location for exploring South Wales, Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan. For those of you who are looking for accomodation in Barry for work, we are only 10 mins drive from Dow Corning, Barry Docks and all the industrial sites in the area. Also close by is Aberthaw Power Station and Lafage Cement works. You will be assured of a memorable stay in one of our en-suite rooms all with Digital TV, free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea/coffee. We are located within a 5 minute walk from the train station, meaning Cardiff Centre and all its attractions such as Millenium Stadium, is just a 20 minute journey. Also close by (4 miles) is Cardiff Wales International Airport. Wine and dine in Whispers Restaurant or relax in our bar with a beer or Segafredo coffee. You also have the choice to wine and dine in the pubs and restaurants all within walking distance. We cater for business parties, families and couples. Long or short stay, you won't be disappointed. Please check out our facilities and services - we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aberthaw House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberthaw Hotel Barry
Aberthaw House Hotel Barry, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberthaw House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.