We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT FOR A WEDDING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonmon Castle

Fonmon Castle
Fonmon, Barry CF62 3ZN, Wales
01446 710206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Barry
Attraction details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT FOR A WEDDING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went to a wedding there ,best ever been too!! Except my own of course, The wedding service was held in an old library which was beautiful .The food was excellent our friends used the caterers recommended by Fonmon Castle. The service given by all the staff was excellent ,The only problem was location ,being so far out transport could be a problem if you had a drink ,its a long way by Taxis to nearest town

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding venue great, catering awful!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I attended a wedding reception at Fonmon Castle, the venue was lovely, it was a cold day, we were greeted by mulled wine which was a lovely touch however what was a huge disappointment was the wedding breakfast. After a superb main course of lamb which was melting and flavoursome, the dessert was an extremely disappointing affair! The whole table of 8 was served BURNT tarte tartin, on raising this with waiting staff, all were replaced - four were OK, four were again BURNT. Raising this a second time, the replaced dessert offered was BURNT! The Matre'D then came over, was rude and dismissive telling me that I didn't like it! I actually quite like tarte tartin.

As a venue, fabulous - catering however, I don't know if it's the Castle's own catering or an external service, I would not recommend.

The bride/groom/family no doubt paid a great deal of money for their catering; the gall of the chef to send out food of such a poor standard is insulting not only to the bride and groom, their family and friends but also to the Castle and it's owners and certainly not to the standard received by previous reviewers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlikiCurrimjee, Owner at Fonmon Castle, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Kobi_13,

I own and manage Fonmon Castle alongside my father Sir Brooke Boothby and we are sorry that you had a less than perfect experience at with us.

We take your feedback very seriously and I have personally raised the issues you shared with our catering partner The Really Fresh Food Company. Really Fresh have a reputation for excellence and providing fantastic catering for our customers and also for our family celebrations here at Fonmon. A lapse in standards is very rare but nonetheless a departure from the first class experience we wish to offer every visitor

Please accept our apologies and rest assured that your issues will be addressed promptly and thoroughly

Kind Regards
Aliki Currimjee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best place in South Wales for your event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose Fonmon for our wedding in September 2000, a special birthday celebration in 2008, and have attended other weddings and events there as well. This is just a perfect setting with beautiful rooms, stunning gardens, and superb service. Sir Brooke and his team are so helpful and responsive, allowing you to fully enjoy the wonderful surroundings and to marvel at the precious antiques and original paintings. The food served by Christine and Bepe, together with the service from their staff, rivals any michelin starred restaurant. My only regret is that I can't throw a party or wedding every year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came here for a wedding - as others have said, the venue is fabulous. The weather was perfect on the day, which made it all the better. Everyone had a great time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Little to see or do”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Basically a house in the beautiful village of Fonmon. lovely grounds but can't really see why it is classed as a castle

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonmon Castle also viewed

 

Been to Fonmon Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonmon Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.