We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twixmas visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Sorrel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Sorrel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Sorrel Hotel
Porthkerry Road, Barry CF62 7XY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Barry
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Twixmas visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our mystery tour of Wales with Proctors Coach Tours on 27/12/2012 led us to Barry, where we stayed at the Mount Sorrel Hotel. We arrived at about 4 pm and booking in was very quick and well organised. Our room was no 48 which is the last room on the top floor. We were not bothered by this as it is well away from any noise downstairs. The double room was quite nice, with all the things you would need. Drink making facilities in the room were a welcome addition. Breakfast was excellent everything you should have on an a full English, including Black pudding. Gorgeous sausages. Evening meal was a three course affair which you choose the night before. All cooked really well, soups were really filling and of a good thickness and tasty. Entertainment was sparce, but we did have singer on one occasion, he sounded like Frank Sinatra. The staff were really nice especially Sally, who told us of a pub which had a live Soul band on, she even turned up at the pub in the evening to see if we were enjoying the band as she was not working the next day. Nice touch. On whole we really did enjoy our three night stay, and if we were in the area again would not hesitate to book the hotel again. Thanks for a nice after Xmas stay. Barry, Sue,Simon and Diane Holdcroft from Stoke on Trent.

Room Tip: Some top rooms are not to quiet as you can hear fans from the Kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. It is always nice to recieve good feedback as it is to recieve constructive comments.

I will pass on your comments to my general manager and team (especially Sally) and once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    30
    16
    18
See reviews for
27
37
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Sorrel Hotel for one night in December between Christmas and New Year. We stayed in Barry as we were going on the Gavin & Stacey Tour (another review to follow!), and had planned to meet a friend who lived in Barry, and the Mount Sorrel's location was ideal for both.

After reading the reviews on here and taking in to account the price we paid - we knew that we were not getting a room at the Welsh branch of the Ritz. What we *did* get was a room that whilst functional (ie, had a bed, working TV and a bathroom), was in real need of an update. However, all we really needed was a room for the night, and the Mount Sorrel did not disappoint in this respect.

Asking for directions to the Barry Island Station was not great from the on-duty receptionist. We had to pick up the Gavin & Stacey bus from Barry Island Station - not to be confused with Barry Station. The receptionist was asked specifically where the Island station was, and she pointed us in the direction of the station at the bottom of the road. "Is that Barry Island Station?", we asked. "Yes", she said.

NO, IT WASN'T! We saw the sign, and as we were still in doubt, asked at the ticket office.

...ten minutes' walk later, we arrived the the right station - thankfully we'd left ourselves plenty of time :)

It *did* take a while to get served in the bar - which we finally only managed to get accomplished when going to reception to ask, and the receptionist came through to serve us. She explained that she was on her own until 6pm, so this explained the lack of bar person..

However, what was not acceptable in my opinion was the following morning. I appreciate that rooms need to be cleaned / prepared for the next guest, but having the cleaner / maid just open the door and walk straight in without so much as knocking is not on! Thankfully, my wife and I were both up, showered and fully dressed, but that is not the point!

The second point was the shower in the bath - anyone falling short of a degree in mechanics and / or basic plumbing would be completely lost on the workings of the taps and mixer in the bath in room 32. I won't go in to detail, but suffice to say - once getting water of a usable temperature to actually divert from the bath to the shower head had actually been achieved, I then spent a good ten minutes trying to get the taps to turn off - no amount of turning either way did the trick. Don't ask me how I finally accomplished it, but I got it turned off eventually and managed to not add to the flooding in the area!

We went down for breakfast. As far as I'm concerned, first impressions count, and the table we were shown to had a dirty table cloth. Ok, it is cosmetic, but we consider ourselves to be relatively well-travelled, and have never before been shown to a table with a dirty table cloth. If in the past, we have ever been shown to a table that *had* already been used, the waiter would make sure that the cloth was changed, and any necessary cutlery was there. Not so at this establishment. Perhaps we were just being picky, but when we looked at the cups that had been freshly put on the table for us, all I can say is that they had not been anywhere near the dishwasher in the last few weeks! We asked for replacements, and to his credit, our server fetched some straight away.

He then asked if we wanted tea or coffee. We asked for coffee, and our server brought us two pots. Great - we thought - plenty to wake us up! Er.... no. One tea and one coffee! Realising this once we had poured two "coffees" that were in fact tea, we put these to one side, to pour from the "other" coffee pot. However, the other cups that were on the table were just as filthy, so we had to get these changed as well.

After all this, the cooked breakfast was actually quite good!

Some people may see the above as simply nit-picking. However, we don't. I appreciate that the hotel has recently changed hands, and that some expenditure is planned for this coming year, but things such as the above with regards to privacy, cleanliness, and attention to detail from staff, need to be addressed also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many thanks for your constructive and positive comments.

It is only be recieving comments like this can we measure our level of service and hospitality and ensue we are meeting and trying to better our standards. Please accept my apologies for the short comings and I will try to make sure that your comments are looked into and recitified as soon as possible.

We are striving to get all the faults sorted and be assured we will eventually get there sooner than later. I have just employed a very proactive general manager for the Mount Sorrel so I am expecting some quick results and a turnaround.

Once again many thaks for your review and comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from christmas break at mount sorrel it was brilliant , the food (all fresh ) and the entertainment though stopped early were excellent.
the staff were all clean smart and friendly the room we were in no 33 was comfortable and cosy and you can see the bristol channel in the distance on non misty day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently had our wedding reception in this hotel. The food, staff and DJ were amazing. All of our guests commented on the very high standard of food, which was not only extremely tasty but excellently served! All of the staff we were in contact with before the wedding were extremely helpful and very polite. On the day of the wedding we could not have asked for friendlier or more well presented staff. The reception room, bar, reception area and toilets were all very clean and well presented. A number of our guests stayed in the hotel. They all found their rooms very comfortable and clean. Some stayed more than one night and said that on both nights they slept well, even though there was a function on at the hotel the first night (before our wedding), they also said that they found the hotel good value for money. They too commented on the above and beyond attitude of the staff they saw.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thankks for your positive comments on your wedding day.

I know the management an staff enjoyed the day very well as weddings are a big part of our business and all the staff love doing them as the atmosphere is usually extremely good.

I have passed on your comments the management and team who were very pleased to receieve them.

May I take this opportunity to wish you all the very best in your new life together.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

It's just a great olde worlde hotel fall of charm . The starf well presented and very helpful Stay there and see...my wife and I allways stay here when we visit our children in Barry or flying out of Cardiff airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We brought the hotel in March from receivership were it had been for two years. There are many changes that need to happen and it is a possiblity that we go backwards before we can begin to go forwards but we will bo ging forward in 2013.

Nigel the chef has been with the hotel for over 20 years and his well respected and a valid member of the team.

Apart from being a hotel group we are a coach holiday company, but it is not our long term goal to make the hotel a coaching hotel, it is a matter of getting some business into the hotel and until the hotel is self sufficient on corporate business, weddings and private functions we will continue to put some coaches in there on a as and when required basis.

We are also looking at making some capital expenditure in early 2013 which again will improve the facilities and comfort of future guests. Like all things having been in receivership for two years you cannot turn it around over night, but we wil ge there.

Once again many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Hotel is no longer part of the Best Western family.
Its been bought by great British Holidays or some such coaching company.
Food standards have dipped significantly which is a shame as it was very good. The same chefs work here so I can only assume its management financial pressure to cut costs.
Its better than 'OK', but only just, and if you are unfortunate enough to roll up alongside a coach-high tail it elsewhere...

Room Tip: Close to Cardiff, city and airport. Great staff. Avoid rooms at front of hotel at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have just brought the hotel out of receivership after two years and are planning to do some work in the hotel to restore it to its three star standard (watch this space)

The food should be no worse and hopefully better as Nigel (Head Chef) is now working with professional caterers and not official receivers who just cut costs for fun.

Once we have had made some changes we would love you to come back as see how the hotel has improved obviously minus the coaches as we don't want to have to put coaches in the Mount Sorrel, but business is business.

Once again, many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I went to Wales on an David Urquhart tour and had a very nice time at the Mount Sorrel Hotel in Barry South Wales. Our room was OK but did need a bit of upgrading. The hotel has just got a new manager , and he was more than helpful with any requests that were made. The meals were excellent with plenty of choices during our stay, On the hole we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Mount Sorrel Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments of which I will pass onto the manager and his team.

It is always nice to recieve positive feedback and this helps us to measure our level of service.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Sorrel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Sorrel Hotel

Address: Porthkerry Road, Barry CF62 7XY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Barry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mount Sorrel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Best Western Barry
Barry Best Western
Mount Sorrel Hotel Barry, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Sorrel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.