We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old pub like a typical Suffolk pubs that I used to frequent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Anchor Inn

Blue Anchor Inn
East Aberthaw | Situated 3 minutes from cardiff international airport, Barry CF62 3DD, Wales
01446 750329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Barry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Blue Anchor Inn was one of the first pubs in South Wales to produce quality bar meals back in the 1980's. Since then we have gone from strength to strength, winning awards including the South Wales Food Pub of the year for four years,2013, 2011, 2008 and 2006. We are Egon Ronay recommended and are included in the Michelin Eating out in Pubs guide since 2007(the only South Wales entry in the guide), as well as the AA Pub Guide 2013, where we appear as Pick of the Pubs for the Vale of Glamorgan.As well as food who could forget real ales! we have always been a forerunner in the promotion of real ale in South Wales. We were the first winner of the CAMRA pub of the year award back in 1983 and we have maintained our position to the present day by being included in the current 2013 CAMRA Guide.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub like a typical Suffolk pubs that I used to frequent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Low ceilings, real ale and good food. Beautiful building, even though it has been rebuilt following a couple of fires ( thatched roof!)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    53
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love the inn, great food and the real ales kept well, troublemis you get to comfy and dont want to leave. Home from home with real ale.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lovely old Traditional pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The interior is how I love pubs to be, authentic, traditional, and best above all sell fabulous real ales, well worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Pub; Excellent Beer and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate in the pub with some friends the other day; great quailty food, plenty of choice reasonably priced. Great wine and beer selection in a very traditional setting. Haven't eaten in the restaurant for a while; sorry!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Oldest pub restaurant in Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Blue Anchor is lovely.Not too easy to get to,but worth the trip.Situated close to Cardiff Wales airport for those who want to come here badly enough to fly in! Good car parking available.Real ale at the bar,great food in the restaurant.Parts of the building date back to 1380,and it shows..the doorways are tiny!
Service good,value good,food good...can't ask for much more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Anchor Inn also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Blue Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.