We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Great Place - with Wonderful Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tynllwyn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tynllwyn Farm
Save
You added Tynllwyn Farm to your Saves list
Groes Plaue, Welshpool SY21 9BW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rowley Regis, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Really Great Place - with Wonderful Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Tynllwyn Farm for two nights as part of our 25th wedding anniversay holiday in Wales (but secretly so I could do four railways in five days!). Jane and David were very warm and welcoming and and the twin room with shower was very comfortable with great views over Long Mountain towrds Offa's Dyke. David was very helpful, with lots of local knowledge, and his service at breakfast was nothing less than superb. Breakfast was wonderful, and although I told my wife I wouldn't have the full breakfast everyday - I did because it was cooked well and used local produce. We were also very fortunate to be able to have a meal on one evening - and we are so glad we did because it was of a standard consistent with that of a high quality restaurant, though there was more of everything than you would get in any restaurant! Thank you Jane and David for a great stay. You are so lucky to be living in a place like Tynllwyn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were warmly welcomed into Jane and David's beautiful, comfortable family home. On our arrival, our very wet jackets, boots and over trousers were whisked away by David to be dried ready for our next day's walking of Offas Dyke. We were invited into a cosy log- fire lounge and offered tea/coffee and scrumptious home made cake before we went up to our luxurious, large & comfortably furnished ensuite bedrooms....what a treat!
Our delicious evening meal cooked by Jane was served to us with unstinting generosity by David. His attention to detail was second to none, David anticipated our every need. The service and quality of food surpassed any expectation one could ever expect and in such an encahanting house and grounds.
After a comfortable night's sleep, we were served a delicious breakfast. Our dry walking boots and gear were ready for us to continue on our way with everlasting memories of a wonderful stay where we were treated like honoured guests....Thankyou Jane and David.

ps Just before we left Tynllwyn farm we took a peek at their self-catering cottages, which were beatifully appointed and very tempting for a holiday stay in such a beautiful and interesting part of Wales.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have stayed twice with friends in this splendidly sited farm house about a mile outside Welshpool. The owner David Emberton is very welcoming and helpful doing his best to comply with all requests. All rooms are large (the house is mid-19th centurry) and comfortable with en-suite showers and the usual facilities. Jane Emberton produces excellent breakfasts including full English. Evening meals are sometimes available at the house but we went to Welshpool each evening ,which is not a cullinary paradise ,but we recommend the Corn Store restaurant for good cooking.
We recommend the B&B highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind review and it was nice to see you all again sorry we could not provide dinner this time .look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards
David & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night whilst doing the Offa's Dyke walk. David picked us up from the trail ( he made 2 journeys as there were 5 of us)and drove us to the glorious Tynllwyn Farm. Fabulous setting, welcome pots of tea and tealoaf. Our room was extremely spacious and had the best shower of the trip. David just couldn't do enough for us ! Breakfast was everything to all and our packed lunches were good quality and very reasonably priced. He then took us back to the trail after breakfast whilst Jane had to do the remaining breakfasts without her right hand man !! A big thanks once again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for your comments . we hope you enjoyed the rest of the offas dyke walk . It was a pleasure to meet you

Kind Regards
David & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We drove up late at night and thought we were at the wrong house because it was too grand. The B&B was beautifully historic and the service was impeccable if not a bit comedic (as we were leaving the propietor mentioned it was an honor and a priviledge to serve my husband - gag!) Rooms were well appointed and very clean. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank You we are glad you enjoyed your stay . Hope to See you again .
Thank you Both ?
david & jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Couldn't ask for a more beautiful location and wonderful views. The room was spacious, spotless and elegant - and David and Jane couldn't have been more welcoming. A wonderful late Victorian house with an extremely clean and modern en-suite to our bedroom. The breakfast is better than most 5 star hotels!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tynllwynfarm, Owner at Tynllwyn Farm, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you for your review we really appreciate it
jane& david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMARTHENSHIRE
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

One of the best places we have stayed in. Very clean,cottages are spacious with all our needs catered for . Breakfast was exceptional having plenty of choice. Both David and Jane could not do enough for us, being helpful in every way . Grounds were spectacular with fantastic views and ample parking. We will definately be staying here again each time we visit the Welshpool area

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tynllwyn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynllwyn Farm

Address: Groes Plaue, Welshpool SY21 9BW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tynllwyn is a large Victorian farmhouse dated 1841. Guests are welcome on the farm all year round. The farm is approached up a long private drive a mile out of Welshpool with beautiful views of the Severn Valley and Long Mountain. Welshpool is a country market town in Mid Wales and we are ideally situated for lovely walks along Glyndwrs Way and Offas Dyke. We have many places of interest to visit, e.g. Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway (one of the great little steam trains of Wales), Canal Boat trips and beautiful Powis castle. Market day is held every Monday. There is also fishing, golf, pony trekking, quad bike trekking and a modern leisure centre with swimming pool, fitness suite and bowls hall. We are central for many worthwhile day trips to the North and West Coast. We also provide self catering barn conversions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tynllwyn Farm Welshpool, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tynllwyn Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.