We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lots of private space
View from the Balcony
Welshpool
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christine...
London
1 review
“Extremely spacious, and strong wi fi connection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Lots of space, very efficient heating system so really nice and warm, a strong and reliable wi fi connection and good mobile connection for the O2 network.

Great layout for my dog - boot room and shower downstairs to wash his paws, and wood throughout most of the main living areas.

This barn has a very lived in feel - somewhere you can feel happy to relax - especially with a pet.

It's wortth noting the barn is joined to two other properties.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
2 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Space inside the property.
Liked least: I was expecting it to be detached - only based on the photos - so my mistake.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
globetrot...
Burnley, Lancashire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

On arriving at the cottage up a road that is in terrible condition but just passable with extreme care, we arrived at the cottage. The exterior was just a foretaste of what was to come, crumbling steps and dirty windows, on stepping inside we were horrified. It was cold damp and dirty, the furniture was well worn tatty, carpets frayed and dirty and the wooden floor in the kitchen area needed a revamp. The kitchen itself was dirty and had not been cleaned for ages. The bedrooms downstairs were dirty and the duvets on the bed were damp and creased, The bathroom was in keeping with the rest of the house, we can do quirky but dirty and tatty we don't do.

On the plus side I rang the owner from the property and told him it was unacceptable and that we would not be staying, he asked for photos which we sent him and he promised an immediate refund which we got. It would appear his housekeeper was not up to the job, the property however still needs a refurb. This almost ruined our family get together, we found another property around 25 miles away which was fantastic, thank you internet!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 1 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
1 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 1 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2013
We take all feedback seriously and agree that the heating should have been set beforehand to make the barn cosy. We are currently purchasing an internet controllable thermostat so that we can ensure this mistake does not happen again. We are also working with the neighbours to repair the track that suffered badly in the extreme rainfall and snow over the winter. Following your experience we have met with the grounds keeper about the items you identified and as always are looking to raise the standard of the barn for our guests.

We are extremely sorry that the house was not to your taste. The kitchen area was revamped under 18 months ago and included resurfacing of the floors as well as the large range cooker and hood to serve large groups comfortably. We feel confident that the issues you experienced were superficial as we have had nothing but positive reviews since we started renting the property and a host of repeat bookings. Had we been given the chance to rectify these items upon your arrival, we are sure you would have had a wonderful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alison514
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

fantastic place to stay and it's location was great for walking and visiting many lovely surrounding towns and beauty spots. The barn is well designed giving plenty of privacy with the bedrooms layout and a massive living area which the children loved. the fire was easy to use and most garages sold logs. There's plenty of cooking utensils and crockery etc. and having the child's gate fitted on the stairs was a great idea.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the size and layout of the barn
Liked least: loads of big potholes in the track leading up to the barn but we were warned of these
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ali H
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully relaxing and great for family holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We did have a wonderful time at the Haybarn, it's a lovely place and my sister and I could have happily lived there!! It was a brilliant place for us all to get together and we had some fantastic days out from there. Everything we needed was there and it really felt like home from home. It's so important to us that our dog is also able to come on holidays with us and the gardens were perfect for him. We shall certainly be staying there again in the future and would happily recommend to our friends and other family who did not come this year!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The open plan kitchen/diner/lounge, meant no one was left out of converstions!
Liked least: Loved it all!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adrian H
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The house made the holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This house has real character and is the perfect place for a family getaway. The place was perfect for a group holiday with young kids. The house is spacious and full of character, yet has all the neccessary mod cons, including excellent cooking facilities and dining area. There was plenty of space in the house and garden for us to hang out together, or to have our own space. On top of this, the house is in a wonderful area with great views. There is some fantastic countryside and scenery nearby, whilst being close enough to the town of Welshpool for pubs, restaurants and supermarkets etc. This was a perfect little getaway, and we will be back in the future!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The huge open plan living area
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kate W
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house full of character, beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We loved the large open plan living space - kitchen, dining area and large sitting room with log burner - great for socialising as a group. The house is full of character, the beds were comfy, the large range cooker great for cooking for a big group of people. We loved the location next to a little stream and close to the woods and Offa's Dyke. The location felt secluded yet it is only a couple of miles from the town of Welshpool which has lots of amenities, shops, pubs and places to eat. Will definitely be back next year!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The open plan upstairs living space with cosy log burner.
Liked least: Having to leave this beautiful house!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
guytoaust...
Yangshuo County, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect snug for a country break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed here over the New Years break and had a fantastic time!

The owner was extremely helpful and informative from the off, giving us extensive details about directions and all of the great little outings there are in the area, like Powis Castle (highly recommended).

The Pentremill itself is wonderful. We all especially enjoyed the open plan first floor living room/dining area/kitchen, as it meant while we were doing different things (cooking, reading, stoking the fire), we were still all together. The log burner heats the place a treat and there's plenty of space to really kick back.

Would definitely consider staying again in the future, perhaps when it's not so rainy!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The open plan first floor
Liked least: Nothing- all was fine
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$155
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Rollo R
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2014
Response Rate: 17 %
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing