We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well named. Excellent base for walking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Farmhouse
Save
You added Paradise Farmhouse to your Saves list
Slough Lane, Presteigne LD8 2NH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well named. Excellent base for walking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in a very well appointed apartment. The kitchen/sitting room had all you need for a self catered holiday. The bedroom & bathroom were excellent with a huge and comfortable bed. The owners could not have been more pleasant and helpful, there was even a freshly made, warm loaf awaiting our arrival.
The area is beautiful and excellent walking country, easy travel to the Offa's dyke path and other walks. Our hosts were happy to indicate good places to eat out in the area, including an excellent Michelin starred pub about 5 miles away where we had a superb meal. Presteigne is about a 20 minute easy walk away and has shops and a leisure centre with a swimming pool, squash courts etc. If you don't want to travel that far there is a games room on site with a table tennis table.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and had a really warm welcome.
The cottage was lovely and the games room was a bonus. The surrounding area is great for walking and is really peaceful. We would love to go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferryside, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a further superb stay at Paradise Farmhouse while attending a music course. The accommodation was as superb as I remembered and I spent a fabulous few days once again enjoying the warm hospitality. I enjoyed my two solo visits have now booked three nights with my partner to enjoy the local walking and to introduce him to this great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferryside, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A warm welcome and absolutely top accommodation in a rural setting. Have already booked my next stay. The standard of the rooms and the cleanliness was top notch. This is a very peaceful location a short distance from Presteigne. I was attending a music course there and stayed as well and the hospitality was superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

A really special place to stay. Very peaceful with splendid views. Self-catering cottages very newly and beautifully appointed, wood floors, huge bedrooms with very comfortable beds and fancy bathrooms, well equipped kitchen. Milk, eggs and excellent homemade bread were provided. Situated in lovely countryside with good walks from the door (including to the interesting and pretty little town of Presteigne). The owners were very pleasant and helpful, offering trays and extra crockery when we had guests for dinner at one of the outside tables. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I can't say enough good things about Paradise farms, everything was pretty much perfect!
Gorgeous setting, fantastic views from our (massive and VERY comfy) bed out through the windows, very clean and well thought out rooms, big bath and power shower. Everything worked perfectly and it was so clean we genuinely thought we might be the first to use the room.
Lovely friendly family that run it, very nice to talk to and totally unobtrusive if you just want to hide away in your room and enjoy being on holiday. They cook a fantastic breakfast too!

The village is friendly and the surrounding area is steeped in history and teeming with wildlife, I'd recommend the Stag Inn as a treat if you fancy a good meal out.

Room Tip: just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urunga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was our second trip to Paradise Farmhouse and certainly didn't disappoint. The stayed in one of the self-contained cottages. The cottages have a full kitchen with all the modern applicances you need. Great lounge/reception area overlooking the rolling hills and adjoining farms. The view from the upstairs bedroom is even more spectacular!! There is a massive bathroom off the upstairs bedroom with shower over the full size bath. Hair dryer is provided.
The property is located close to the picturesque town of Presteigne on the english and welsh boarder. The town has two supermarkets, a number of Pubs - my favourite is the Dukes which has great atmosphere and loads of little quaint shops.
I can HIGHLY recommend Paradise Farmhouse, an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Farmhouse

Address: Slough Lane, Presteigne LD8 2NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury barn conversion overlooking stunningly beautiful Welsh border country near Offa’s Dyke.It is a place of exceptional peace and restfulness, but there are also great walks, pubs, restaurants, gardens and activities nearby, starting with Presteigne less than a mile away. We can sleep eight people in total in four double / twin bedrooms, each with en-suite bath or shower room, available for self-catering or B&B. Alternatively we offer two self-catering flats each sleeping four people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Farmhouse Presteigne, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.