We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Norton, Presteigne LD8 2EN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£99 (GBP)
Ranked #1 of 11 Presteigne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have visited The Old Vicarage a number of times and always enjoy the surroundings and hospitality. This place is truly special and we will return whenever we can. Paul and John are consumate hosts and we particularly recommend staying for dinner. Other reviewers rave about the building, it's decor and furnishings - this is not overstated and a total joy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Old Vicarage has only 3 things going for it - the property itself, the owners Paul and John and it's location!

It is a large Victorian, George Gilbert Scott designed vicarage set in beautiful gardens with terrific views over the rolling countryside. It has been restored virtually to its original state, including electric bell pushes, which you are encouraged to use, in the study, drawing room and dining room - and you are invited to use all these rooms at your leisure, pre dinner drinks are taken in the drawing room. The atmosphere is authentically 19th century with the only noise coming from the various chiming clocks.
Paul and John are very friendly and can't do enough to help - they are clearly Victoriana fanatics and the food (prepared by Paul) is excellent too. The local area (Welsh marches) is completely unspoiled with little traffic and lots of small towns with good local shops. All in all a lovely, tranquil and very friendly place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: They all are extremely well appointed with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Old Vicarage is a delight. From the tea and freshly-baked banana and pecan loaf on our arrival, through the stunningly-decorated high-Victorian rooms, to the delicious breakfasts, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was extremely comfortable, and Paul and John looked after us very well; even cooking a special light dinner one day when I was ill. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Price room, which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've just returned from probably the most magical weekend away we've ever experienced. What really made it for us was this truly beautiful property, which has been restored to its former Victorian gothic splendour. The attention to detail throughout is amazing - from the antique furnishings through to the wallpaper and all the beautiful lighting fixtures around the property.

We love country house hotels, but the Old Vicarage truly blew all the others out of the water, and it is fantastic value for money.

Paul and John were the most welcoming hosts, and made us feel at home from the moment we stepped through the door. They looked after us throughout our stay so well, with freshly baked scones and homemade jams each afternoon, and the most delicious breakfasts: from homemade yoghurt to locally sourced sausages, eggs and bacon. Each evening we were treated to the most wonderful cooking by Paul, who is a former top chef. We were staggered by the quality of the food - the first evening we had a beautiful tender beef wellington for our main course, and the second evening was the most delicious locally sourced pheasant. It was wonderful to take apertifs in the drawing room before dinner, and have coffee there afterward beside the log fire.

The property is located high in the Welsh Marches, offering splendid views in every direction over the rolling hills. We'll be returning in the summer so that we can sit out in the garden in the evening and enjoy watching the sun set over the hills! Locally there is an abundance of things to do, but we really enjoyed a walk along Offa's Dyke as per John's recommendation - the distant views are unparalleled, and it was fun to watch the lambs in the fields.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, but we enjoyed the Gilbert Scott room, with its lovely roll-top bath - v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Congratulations to Paul and John for creating such a wonderful environment. From the magnificent food to the comfort of the rooms, everything is perfect. It's like stepping back into the world of the Victorian country house party. The atmosphere is so tranquil and restful and the views from every window are breathtaking.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally lovely. I asked for a room with a shower and was well accommodated. I sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a splendid place to stay, not a hotel at all. The support from Paul and John when I was making enquiries through to leaving with a pot of jam and a chicken shows real attention to detail, sadly lacking in the majority of hotels.
We were treated as genuinely favoured guests, nothing is too much trouble and the accommodation is superb. A lovely, lovingly restored Victorian home was most welcoming in the snow of an unusual White Easter.
Other reports describe the garden in summer, and we are looking forward to a return trip. To enjoy that as well.
You will not be disappointed with a stay in this unique guest home.

Room Tip: There are only 3, ours was magnificent. The others looked similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday and had a lovely time. The rooms are fantastic, as was the welcome from John & Paul. Excellent cooking and a lovely dining room really made the day. Looking forward to coming back and will bring friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Norton, Presteigne LD8 2EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deservedly winner of the Tripadvisor 2012 Certificate of Excellence and 2007 Visit Wales (Welsh Tourist Board) Best B&B in Wales, The Old Vicarage, Norton, Presteigne is situated in beautiful walking country on the Welsh/Herefordshire border. Enjoy the stunning Victorian decor, furnishings & fittings; comfortable beds; dinner by candlelight with excellent food and wine; delicious breakfasts using superb local produce; and the lovely landscaped gardens with fabulous views across the hills of England & Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Presteigne, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list