We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wales or England” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Radnorshire Arms

Save Saved
You added The Radnorshire Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Radnorshire Arms
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Midleton, Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wales or England”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Still not sure. We spent one night in Presteigne. Our room was small and on third floor. We ate in the hotel restaurant. Our meal was fine with service a little slow. The bed was very comfortable and the shower in the morning excellent. Breakfast was disappointing. Very ordinary juices, cereal, toast etc. the cooked breakfast was good but my croissants were horrid. The staff were all very very friendly and natural. I think the hotel could do with some improvements but the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a lovely room in this beautiful old building. The staff couldn't have been more helpful! It was a bit noisy initially but got quiet when the pub closed. Food in the restaurant was good too. The room was booked for us so I don't know how much it cost and can't really comment on the value but we slept like logs and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food was soooo delicious!! Compliments to the chef all round!! I forgot to ask him for the recipe for his fish cakes which were out of this world! I could go on all night Lol..The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The lodge rooms are the best. Food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped en-route on a long journey for a quick drink and ended up staying the night we enjoyed this place so much! The ambiance inside is great, and there's a large garden with lots of tables under umbrellas which at the far end has a trampoline, climbing frame/slide/swing, ride-on cars & bikes and even a sand pit (with proper play-sand!). But those without kids, don't be put off - it's large enough for everyone to enjoy as the play area is at the far end so you're not disturbed.

Very few places are as switched on to the needs of those of us who like a good quality meal in pleasant surroundings but who have little ones in tow - these people are though. From the extensive main menu (great range of pizzas and incredibly reasonable steaks under £10) to the quality children's menu (nothing school dinner-ish here - either fresh meat & veg or 'branded' frozen offerings; even offering 3 courses plus 'coffee' - very inventive!) - they've thought of everything. There's a pool table and gaming/quiz machines inside for the older ones too. This place has it all - great beer, quality food at reasonable prices, a cosy bar, an elegant restaurant and a relaxing lounge. If you become resident overnight like we did, there's a huge residents lounge upstairs with plenty of books and board games available.

For those of you like us who are a family of five or more, getting accommodation can be tricky unless you are prepared to split up. Not here - there's a family suite comprising two quirky inter-connecting rooms with a double bed in one room; two single beds and a double sofa bed in the second. Flat screen TV, plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits/water provided too. Ok, the bathroom is dated, but they are undertaking a program of refurbishment of all their bathrooms so this will be addressed shortly.

We are well-travelled and have stayed in 5-star hotels across Europe & US, and whilst this may not offer the facilities and modernity of such hotels, the attention to family-needs and the quality and range of the food will entice us back and we will certainly recommend to others. Well done to the people who run this place! If only more places were as accommodating to families as you......

Room Tip: Family suite can sleep up to five in two interconnecting rooms - such a rarity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked with Go-groopie .arrived at hotel we was given a chalet at back of hotel,which was clean,had everything you needed,bed was comfortable,jacuzzi bath was great,especially after we had been walking all day,had a meal on first night,which was very good,overall it was a enjoyable stay,would recommend Greek restaurant right from hotel on main street called Fig tree,had a fabulous meal there good service,Had a good walk not far from hotel at Knighton did some of offa"s dyke

Room Tip: did not stay in hotel so cant comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a horrific place. Had a wedding nearby so booked the Radnorshire Arms. We arrived, and had a nice welcome, our room was not made up - as they had a big change over, so sat in the garden, which was nice. Eventually taken to our room, which was on the third floor in the main building. Room 12 was a disaster. The brown carpets hadn’t seen a vacuum cleaner in months, the walls and inside the wardrobe were covered in flaking paint and damp. My Morning suit was covered when I went to get changed. The hand towel in the bathroom was an old floor matt designed to go round the loo. For £95 we expected a lot more.

We decided to get up early and get home, so skipped breakfast. When we made our complaints on check out, the receptionist said "oh you are room 12 right" acknowledging that it should be condemned. They offered us £20 off our bill, which in hindsight was not enough for what would be described as poor motel at best. £40 would have been a fair price!

Would advise reviewing your room before checking in (if they have any spare) or try somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestiegne, Owner at The Radnorshire Arms, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I was very sorry to read such a damning review regarding your stay in room 12 and I must offer you my sincere apologies that you were given that room at all as, as you correctly pointed out, there are a number of unacceptable issues with that room.

The first thing that I would like to point out, however, is that our rooms are cleaned every day by a dedicated team of housekeepers so I'm afraid that I must disagree with your summation regarding this. The issue with that room was, in fact, firstly the age of the carpet (no amount of hovering would make it look any better I'm afraid) and secondly an issue on the roof had caused damp ingress into that room which had flaked all of the paint and the plaster. This room should have been taken out of commission and we should have booked you out to another venue. I would rather have done this than made you suffer the problems you encountered in that room. Sadly, I was on location at my other hotel over this period so was unaware that this room had been put back in service for that night. I am extremely embarrassed about this room and I fully understand your comments regarding it.

On a positive note, however, we have just approved an extensive refit on the property in which all of the bathrooms are being completely stripped out and replaced with modern equipment and décor, new curtains, carpets, beds etc are also in the plans. We have already completed 8 of the 19 rooms we have and will commence refurbishment of the remainder in November of this year. It is my dearest hope that by the end of this, this beautiful building will be of the standard that you are entitled to expect from a quality hotel.

As such I offer you this challenge - when we have completed the refurbishment, come and have a complimentary weekend away with us where we will work tirelessly to blow you away with our new facilities and our attitude to winning dissatisfied customers over. If you are still unhappy with us by the end of this weekend then I will additionally refund you the entire difference from your room rate from your previous stay (and probably have a little cry in the corner too!!) I am, however, utterly confident that we can impress you on a return visit!!

As I have only just worked out how to respond to comments on this site due to my excessive age I'm afraid! I suspect that this response may not get to you so I shall endeavour to get this message to you by other means as well.

If I may take this opportunity to once again, with a slightly red face, apologise for the poor quality of your stay and the rather meagre compensation offered to you.

I look forward to meeting with you on your return to The Radnorshire Arms Hotel.

Sincerely

Gianni D'Aniello
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and we were sorted out with our room which was a chalet outside the hotel with a nice room and jacuzzi bath. The hotel has a lot of history with dating back to 1616. There is a lot of character in the main building which in itself has changed over the years. It is well maintained, though there is a definitive aged appearance.

On the first night, we had a meal at the hotel, which was excellent - The starter was fish cakes, which was perhaps overly ample yet tasty portions and prawns with meat. Both were very appetising, and the main course was a exceptionally tasty medium rare steak and a nice homemade 8oz bacon cheese burger which stuffed and satisfied us both.

The hotel itself was aesthetically pleasing and the staff were friendly. We spent the first night at the hotel and the second night went to the village and sampled the three local pubs which were all fine. The hotel itself was the highlight with a good selection of drinks and a lovely family friendly beer garden with a kids play area (trampoline/climbing/swings/slides) along with a pool table in a games room.

All in all, a quality stay.

Room Tip: Rooms were a choice of in the hotel main building itself which were more traditional and these can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Radnorshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Radnorshire Arms

Address: High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Radnorshire Arms 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned historic 3* Hotel and restaurant, offering 17 en-suite rooms, all equipped to the highest standard with a lounge, childrens' play area and gardens. We accommodate individuals, couples, families and larger groups in relaxed and spacious surroundings whether it be for a very special occasion or for a quiet evening out. Located in beautiful countryside in the town of Presteigne next to Offas Dyke and close to Ludlow Hereford, Shrewsbury and Llandrindod Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Radnorshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Radnorshire Arms Presteigne, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Radnorshire Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.