We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milebrook House Hotel

Milebrook House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milebrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milebrook House Hotel
Save
You added Milebrook House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milebrook LD7 1LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milebrook
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Dinner 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thank you Milebrook for an amazing Christmas Lunch. Efficient and friendly service and beautiful surroundings. We all enjoyed ourselves very much and have already recommended the hotel to our friends. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A traditional country hotel full of character in a delightful setting. Very convenient for visiting the border area. Cosy bar and very good food. Staff well trained and helpful. Would like to come back in the summer and sit in the garden!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had five night break, lovely food, beautiful gardens. We spent two afternoons sitting on terrace just relaxing did us both good. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
The staff were always happy and pleasant (we have stayed in other hotels and believe me this is not always the case).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I will admit that the weather was perfect so to have pre lunch drinks on a sunny terrace overlooking a stunning garden did put one in the perfect mood. However, the lunch and service that followed was of a high standard and one sufficient to ensure that we will return at some time but in the meanwhile recommend to friends.
Next time we might be tempted to sample the hotel sector of this little gem
By the way I rarely give a five star rating as I always want the places I really like to be motivated to try even harder so that next time I return places like this will be even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Three couples who enjoy driving their vintage cars descended on this hotel for a 3 night stay. Our rooms were very comfortable and very clean. The lounge and bar area was very cosy, and we felt very at home.
The food was excellent and all the dining room staff were delightful and so wanting to please.
A lovely walk on the Sunday morning across the field at the rear and up to the little church on the hill, back through the woods. An excellent place in which to explore the countryside around, rich in Castles, pretty villages, and beautiful gardens. In all an excellent choice for a few days. V

Room Tip: Fairly busy road so if you want to be quiet ask for a rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Four friends meet every month for lunch. We do like to ring the changes. This month we went to the Milebrook and were delighted. Everything was above expectations. It did seem a shame that we were the only guests for lunch on that date but it did not deter the staff and management who gave us excellent service. Three of us had goats cheese tartlets which were superb. The fourth had the fiscakes which she declared were the best she had ever had. Two followed with Chicken and two with goujons. All the mains were wonderful. Only two of us followed with cheese which was excellent. The bill with drinks was an acceptable £100 which we thought was good value for what we had.

The premises are in a lovely setting and the housekeeping and attention to detail was superb. Many thanks to the owner and staff for making this lunch very enjoyable.

We do not often go back to the same place but in this case - we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENLEY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A most beautiful place! The house is very set in lovely grounds, views of the gardens from every window. The public rooms are welcoming and comfortable, decorated with interesting books, ornaments, pictures, open fires. The bedroom (Lurkenhope - made me smile) and ensuite were large and well appointed (great big fluffy towels). The meals were excellent: good choice for dinner and breakfast; locally sourced, beautifully cooked and presented. The service was great: nothing seemed too much trouble and when the electricitiy went off (we had been fore-warned), the owners ensured the guests were happy and then simply got on with things. Will definitely be visiting again with friends. A real find.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milebrook House Hotel

Address: Milebrook LD7 1LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Milebrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milebrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One-time retreat of Emperor Haille Selassie. A former Dower House. Home-grown, local produce used in the restaurant. Ideal to explore Mid- Wales and Borderlands. Former home of Sir Wilfred Thesiger. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milebrook House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.