We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but chilly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milebrook House Hotel

Milebrook House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milebrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milebrook House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milebrook LD7 1LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Milebrook
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely but chilly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel; the food is amazing, it is scupulously clean and it is cosily furnished. However, during our one night stay it was decidedly chilly. The radiatiors in the bedroom were on full, but the room never seemed to get warm. The dining room and lounge were also cool.
In hindsight I wish we had spoken to the owner about it, but felt that, as the radiators were all warm, that there was little that could have been done.
Everything else was lovely except for this one point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel provided a hand drawn plan of the gardens. On the plan were written words to the effect that the hotel was quite. Great, I thought, just what I need! It couldn't have been further from the truth. Traffic coming from Knighton started to speed along the straight road outside the hotel gardens. You could hear it coming, you could hear it passing and you could hear it roaring off into the distance. It went on until the small hours. So, if you stay there, don't forget your earplugs. The hotel also has a resident cat, which is not mentioned in the blurb. I know some people like cats, but others don't and others are allergic to cat fur. The cat is allowed in the public rooms, including the dining room! It sits on the easy chairs, which means if you sit down in dark trousers when you get up you can see that you're covered in cat fur! The food was good but it was not an hotel I would return to because of the traffic noise and the cat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMilebrook, Manager at Milebrook House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I'm sorry you were so upset by the cat, she isn't allowed in the dining room, but if the door is open she can follow you in, she usually gets put out straight away. My sister who is allergic to cats never has a problem with her allergy here. Noodles is part of the family and to most of our guests a welcome one. As for the noise from the traffic, it is beyond our control, there might have been something going on down the valley that night that made the road busy. We listened for traffic last night and heard none. We do have people who stay and comment about how quiet the road is, but if you're accustomed to no road at all, you might prefer one of our rooms on the back of the house. On more cheerful note (as it is Christmas) I’m glad you enjoyed the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I first visited this Milebrook House hotel with friends for dinner. The dinner was excellent and I was impressed so I visited again a few months later for a few days.

This is a Victorian house which used to be the home of Wilfrid Thesiger the famous explorer and SAS soldier. It is a traditional English style country home and is elegant and comfortable. The owner, Beryl, and her daughter and staff make one feel very welcome and there is a very friendly cat, Noodles, who keeps an eye on things without being a nuisance!

The interior decoration is very English and the garden (with peacocks) leads down to a lovely river – great for a bit of quiet resting or some tea.
Room was very comfortable with a nice bath, shower, TV and teapot.
Plenty of space to park your car which you will probably need to get there easily as it is situated along a quiet road.

My room was at the front but there is almost no traffic and the room was completely quiet even during daytime and the night was silent. Lovely views over the hills with lots of sheep, pheasants and hares to look at. Take your binoculars.
No swimming pool but you might like to paddle in the river in the summer.
Very nice traditional English decor everywhere and a comfortable lounge and separate bar to sit and have tea and tickle Noodles the cat.

Dinners were absolutely delicious. Chris Lovell the chef and all the friendly staff provided very high quality local produce beautifully cooked and presented very professionally. Breakfasts were the same - absolutely great. The high quality of all the food prompted us to go to the kitchen to compliment them all.

Plenty of lovely countryside and sightseeing. RAF Cosford museum is about an hour's drive away but definitely worth visiting as it has a fantastic, unique collection of aircraft and many air displays. As British Airways pilot I like aeroplanes and I also like decent hotels.

Milebrook House is absolutely perfect for a very quiet stay in a very elegant but unpretentious, friendly house. If you want a bit of peace and some really good food I highly recommend it. I'll definitely go again!

Room Tip: The main entrance from the road is quite narrow so don't drive too fast when approaching it as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I originally found this gem in "welsh rarebits", in the Welsh borders and looking on to Offa's Dyke it has a large delightful garden which is well worth a walk through if you have a spare hour whilst staying there. The hotel has a traditional country house feel with antique furniture and comfy chairs.

I have had the pleasure of staying here a number of times over the last 10 years and it has always proved to be a delight. A family run establishment where everyone does their best to make you feel welcome.

A few years ago I was astonished and shocked to see that the AA had given it a 2 star rating, the food and the quality of the rooms are well in excess of any 3 star hotels I have stayed in and many with 4 stars. It is because of this that I can no longer trust the AA rating system.

The food is freshly prepared to order for both dinner and breakfast, the service is outstanding. The rooms are spacious and most have splendid views. The best deals to be had are with a dinner, bed and breakfast option

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay here. We were walking the Offa's Dyke path and so it was great to be picked up and dropped off from the path to the Hotel and back. Mrs Marsden made us feel very welcome, despite being scruffy walkers! We had a nice meal in the evening and the food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I don't do for all this modern fancy glamour, with seating designed by graduates in their first jobs: might look good (some do) but don't do anything for comfort. Milebrook House has a lounge with proper quality good old fashioned comfortable chairs, complete with log fire.
The bedrooms arre quite spacious, again with quality furniture and comfortable beds.
The food is second to none, with an exceedingly good menu at realistic prices.
Best of all is the fact that the staff are there just for you.
My wife and I have made two visits to this most enjoyable establishment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I recently returned for our fourth visit, having last stayed 2 years ago. Nothing has changed, I am glad to say. The Hotel retains its charm and is efficiently overseen by Mrs Marsden (a human dynamo who never seems to be off duty) and her family. The staff were all hard-working and eager to please. Food was excellent and my wife was satisfied with the available items on the separate Vegetarian Menu. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the Bar now stocks bottled 'Old Speckled Hen' which I do not recall from previous visits.

The Hotel has splendid gardens leading to the river Teme and there are some good local walks both from Milebrook and the nearby village of Bucknell. Alternatively, a relaxing afternoon in the gardens (if you are lucky with the weather) can be equally rewarding.

My only complaint is that the shower in our room lacked power and was little more than a trickle. Like other things in life, perhaps it was due to bad timing? That said, it did not detract too much from our 2-nights stay. As other reviewers have pointed out, if you detest the anonymity and impersonal service of modern-day Chain Hotels, then Milebrook House is definitely the place for you!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milebrook House Hotel

Address: Milebrook LD7 1LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Milebrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Milebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milebrook House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One-time retreat of Emperor Haille Selassie. A former Dower House. Home-grown, local produce used in the restaurant. Ideal to explore Mid- Wales and Borderlands. Former home of Sir Wilfred Thesiger. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milebrook House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Milebrook House Hotel to your Saves list