We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glandyfi Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glandyfi Castle
Save
You added Glandyfi Castle to your Saves list
Glandyfi, Machynlleth SY208SS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Staying in a castle sounds like a great plan. My visit however, was based on a need to find a bed quickly, near where I had done a long days work. Imagine my surprise! A brilliant location and beautifully appointed castle. Personal service second to none, with wonderful attention to the smallest detail. A wonderfully atmospheric stay, I want to try a winter stay next!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We really were blown away by this fabulous/stunning building. Newly refurbished to a very high standard. I was fortunate to be shown around the building by Peter Holmes the owner. The attention to detail is simply outstanding. The heating system alone is a work of art.!
It's not everyday you get to stay in a CASTLE!! It is so warm and cosy with fabulous beds, (every room was taken that night) we had lashings of hot water.
Maureen & her assistant served us a wonderful 3 course dinner. Breakfast the next morning was just as good.

Room Tip: We stayed in Osprey - fabulous views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in August, when they had only had a couple of other guests before us, I was 8 months pregnant (hence not having time to write a review until now). We were the only guests and were upgraded from a gorgeous room, to another gorgeous room which was a bit bigger. We arrived Mid Afternoon and i had Tea and (home made) heavenly scones and cream and great company from Sidney (the dog). sitting on the terace looking at the view while my partner had his (pre booked) massage indoors. We had the two course evening menu, which was lovely. A great stay, lovely hosts, just wish we could have stayed longer... in addition, fabulous breakfast in the company of a cool suit of armour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was 'wowed' by the castle on my first visit in September and vowed then to come back with pals for a murder mystery weekend. Maureen and Pete assisted by Tabitha and Sienna showed that their talents stretch far beyond making this the most comfortable and relaxing place I have stayed. I knew the food would be scrumptious and the wine list well chosen but could not have imagined that there would, for instance, be a choice of dozens of cocktails, that our hosts would dress the part of 1930's castle staff (for it was set in 1934) and that their acting skills were fit for the West End. The evening was topped with some amazing singing by Sienna.
The castle is just perfect for house parties, relaxed and informal. The biggest treat being the people who run it they are so generous with their time and spoilt us rotten. I defy you not to be charmed.

Room Tip: Nightingale has awesome views over Dovey estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had already chosen Glandyfi Castle as our wedding venue having visited it during the renovation process and met Maureen and Pete (and Sidney the dog!).Unfortunately Dawn was taken ill before our planned date in August and her subsequent diagnosis meant we had to arrange the wedding at short notice and from start to finish the whole wedding was planned in just 18 days!!. Maureen was the ultimate organiser arranging flowers, photography, food, music and a cake in the shape of a fantastic pair of shoes!, while Pete and staff were kept busy keeping the drinks flowing. The whole atomsphere was one of relaxed luxury all day, culminating in a sumptious dinner in the magnificent glass roofed courtyard in the evening. We really cannot reccomend Glandyfi Castle highly enough as a place to just unwind and relax and be pampered. If you are planning a small intimate wedding there could not be a better place, perhaps you could give Maureen a bit more notice!!. We will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious, 2 are not en-suite but have their own private adjacent bathrooms. For the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was a dream come true, staying in a castle - but not one of the old welsh ones that were cold and drafty!! I had often wondered who lived there and dreamed how nice it would be with wonderful views of the Dyfi esturary as i passed on my way to work. Now i know that it was more than a day dream - we were made to feel part of the family and treated like kings and queens. It should be a secret cos it was a very special place, all rooms were beautifully appointed and the food was good quality, home cooked and absolutly amazing. We loved everything about it and will go back as often as we can!

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned home after a delightful stay at Glandyfi in October '12 to celebrate our 43rd Wedding Anniversary. Our hosts Maureen and Peter, together with Tabitha couldn't have been more welcoming - the usual tea/coffee making facilities in the room but accompanied by a lovely bowl of fresh fruit/biscuits/fluffy dressing gowns and Clarins shampoos etc! As it happened we were the only people staying and as a result, Maureen offered a free upgrade as is their policy, to another room overlooking the estuary, which was very thoughtful. The whole experience was fantastic, being made to feel very comfortable in a very beautiful but cosy home. Although they have not been up and running very long they certainly do everything spot on and we wish them well for the future. Get there before everyone else does!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glandyfi Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glandyfi Castle

Address: Glandyfi, Machynlleth SY208SS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glandyfi Castle is a regency gothic listed building with Dramatic views overlooking the Dovey estuary and RSPB bird reserve in Mid-Wales. The Castle is set in 45 acres of woodland and gardens, only 10 minutes from the sandy beaches. Aberdovey golf course is a 30 minute drive, and only 15 minutes from Aberystwyth. There is a direct rail link from London, via Birmingham and guests can be collected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glandyfi Castle Machynlleth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glandyfi Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.