We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour, great guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corris Mine Explorers

Corris Mine Explorers
| Corris Craft Centre, Corris, Machynlleth SY20 9RF, Wales
+44 1654 761244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join one of Wales' top mine explorers on an exploration of a virtually untouched abandoned Welsh Slate Mine. First worked in 1836 and abandoned by the miners in the early 1970s, more than 130 years of mining history is captured inside waiting to be discovered. It is as if the mine has just closed. Machinery, tools, even the candles and a packet of cigarettes are still in place as the miners left them. Corris Mine Explorers gives you the opportunity to visit these abandoned slate mine workings, to step into the tough working lives of the miners and of past generations. 2 trips to choose from: 1 hour Taster and a 2 hour Mine Explorer Trip. Advance Booking Essential. Corris Mine Explorer trips start from the Corris Craft Centre, Finalist in the National Tourism Awards 2015 for Best Day Out!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour, great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We did the 2 hour trip as a party of 6 including two children (9 and 12) and their 70 year old grandad. It was great trip - really fascinating. Mark was our guide - he is hugely knowledgeable. His enthusiasm is infectious. 2 hours with Mark is an adventure in itself. The really unique thing about the tour is that everything is untouched from the time the mine was abandoned. Seeing all the artefacts and tools left behind by the miners was fascinating - old cigarette cartons and drink bottles left exactly where they were by their owners over a 100 years ago. Sometimes a little edgy. I could easily have done more than 2 hours but others in the party were quite cold and wet by the end so for a family with young and old, 2 hours was about right. Highly recommended. Thank you Mark.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
A great review - thank you so much. So good to read that your family, of young and old, enjoyed the 2 hour trip. Thanks so much for sharing this with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

One of the most interesting visits we've done in a long time!

Echoing the very positive comments below, Mark was a great guide who was extremely knowledgable on both the history and geology of the mine.

During the 2hr trip we got a good mix of activities, from walking through the main tunnels to scrambling up scree to get a high vantage on the chamber below. Certainly it had much more activity than your usual tour (no doubt tailored to our interest/ability) and was all the better for it. We'll definitely be back for a 4hr trip, which promises even more opportunity to explore unusual parts of the mine.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
A great review, thank you so much. Yes, Mark tries to tailor all of his trips to meet the varied interests and abilities of the members of each group. The Braich Goch slate mine is vast and there are many different routes that can be explored. If you're returning for a second trip, it's always worth mentioning this to Mark when booking so that a different route can be prepared for you.
We look forward to seeing you on the 4 hour trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
“Welch caves tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Mark is the best! Very knowable and funny, but is always careful for everyone's safety. This is a real cave tour, not a fairy tale type cave tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks so much, goodness this may well go to Mark's head, best I keep this review quiet! A wonderful review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After a weekend in Llandudno, we drove out to Corris for a 2 hour mining experience. Thank you Mark for a great tour, which is by far the best cave visit I have ever made. From the moment you go through the waterfall at the entrance, you get a glimpse of a very different world. A fascinating two hours, with a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide, who clearly loves his job.
I agree with a previous reviewer, this trip is "in the raw" with no carefully tarmaced pathways etc. which makes it so much better. With work in the mine stopping the 1970's it is how it was left on the last day of work there.
At all times we felt safe, with clear safety instructions and equipment given by our guide (as well as wellies - you will need these, especially if it has been recently raining). Even better that Mark's search and rescue dog was with us for the two hours, at all time checking the group was still together.
Make sure you book before you go and remember your waterproofs .

A great afternoon, thank you. I only wish we had enough time to upgrade to the 4hour trip, maybe next time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review, sounds like you had a great time.
The waterfall which you walked through, just before entering the mine, only flows following periods of very excessive rainfall so waterproofs are not generally needed. A pair of wellies is definitely recommended at all times and we can lend these to you if need be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
“Do it now before Health and Safety forbids it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My daughter (21) and I were the only ones booked with our guide, Mark, for our 4 hour visit. We were on our way to work as volunteers for a week on the Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway. Entering the system through the waterfall was an impressive start Inside, all those miles of it, well I take pity on all those dwarves tunnelling for Lord of the Rings. Two people one metre a day in the darkness of a Welsh hill? Hoping all the time that your mate doesn't hit your fingers with the sledgehammer. If you are interested in our industrial past then this is the bees knees. Be warned, it may be a constant 8 degrees with not a breeze but it's cold. Wear thick socks and woollies. There was a point after an hour when we wondered if we should have signed up for four. But by the end of it we wanted to explore more and more. They were there, hammering and chiselling and digging and hanging on to chains at ridiculous heights just the other day. Then they went home, and left so much behind. Mark is an amazing guide and knows the tunnel system like the back of his hand (don't lose sight of him or you may stay there for ever!) he is also an underground artist extraordinaire. You'll see! I would not have wanted to miss this visit. It was so much more raw and intimate (and just a little bit edgy) than any other cave or minng complex I have ever visited. We will both remember it for the rest of our lives. Thanks Mark.

Working on the Welshpool & Llanfair was good too. The smart paintwork on the outer starter signal is mine.

Chris Davies MEP

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you, you really have hit the nail on the head, so to speak, with your wonderfully detailed review. We're so pleased that our Half Day Mine Expedition made such a great impression.
Must remember to look out for your smart paintwork when next on the Welshpool and Llanfair Railway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corris Mine Explorers also viewed

 

Been to Corris Mine Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corris Mine Explorers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.