We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 hour Mine Explorer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corris Mine Explorers

Corris Mine Explorers
| Corris Craft Centre, Corris, Machynlleth SY20 9RF, Wales
+44 1654 761244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join one of Wales' top mine explorers on an exploration of a virtually untouched abandoned Welsh Slate Mine. First worked in 1836 and abandoned by the miners in the early 1970s, more than 130 years of mining history is captured inside waiting to be discovered. It is as if the mine has just closed. Machinery, tools, even the candles and a packet of cigarettes are still in place as the miners left them. Corris Mine Explorers gives you the opportunity to visit these abandoned slate mine workings, to step into the tough working lives of the miners and of past generations. 2 trips to choose from: 1 hour Taster and a 2 hour Mine Explorer Trip. Advance Booking Essential. Corris Mine Explorer trips start from the Corris Craft Centre, Finalist in the National Tourism Awards 2015 for Best Day Out!
Sedgley, Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 hour Mine Explorer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I did the two hour trip with my daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it, my only problem with the trip was that the two hours went far too quickly.
Mark was incredibly knowledgeable about the mine, it's history and the area. The items left by the miners are an underground time capsule.
I will definitely go back and do the four hour trip when I get chance.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, we look forward to seeing you back for the 4 hour trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An absolute must do....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

At the safety briefing Mark (the one and only tour guide) told us that no two visits to the mine are the same. This is great news as our trip was outstanding and I will definitely visit again.

We took the four hour tour and the time just flew by learning so much about the history of the mine and seeing amazing caverns, tunnels and artefacts from the past.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who has an interest in Welsh history and in particular the slate industry.

I could go on but read the other reviews as well as they tell it all

I must have personally recommended the tour to fifty people already in less than a week - It is just brilliant

Looking forward to exploring Level 4 of the mine next time in more detail

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Wow, we love your review and that you have told so many people how great Corris Mine Explorers is. Thanks so much and keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4 Hour Mine Explorer - 20th August 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We found a leaflet for this mine explorers tour when on holiday in mid-wales.

The location is easy to find at Corris Craft Centre, we were meeting by friendly reception staff and read the mine rules.

Before going into the mine we were provided a safety briefing by Mark (Tour guide). He was very knowledgeable and added his own element of humour to the tour.

This experience was really good and exceeded my expectations. We wore waist harness, head torch and battery pack. The mine has such a lot of history that is communicated to us my Mark.

We were taken to some amazing sights within the caves. My personal favourite was the final climb out of the cave. The sunlight came in from opening and we attached to ropes and climbed up the steps before walking out of the mine.

I have recommended this as a 'must see' place for family and friends to visit.

Also, the Corris Mine Explorers Facebook group is worth a visit to view other photos that have been taken while exploring the mines.

Thank you for a great experience, we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Graham & Vicki

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review, so good to read that you had a good time exploring. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience, lead by real enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Having read how popular and good this is, we booked well in advance for the 4 hour tour of the mines. We really learned a lot about slate and mining and saw things that were amazing. The 100 feet caverns, icy still crystal clear water, the tools of the old miners and breath taking scale of work archived. It's not hard walking and you are very well looked after by the guide. This is the real thing, not a Disney experience!

Totally recommend it and if there are others in your party wanting something softer there are plenty of other activities at the same centre at Corris. Do book. I can't believe those who gave it one star when they turned up without booking and didn't do the tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
A great honest review, thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic - no matter how brave you're feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited Corris Mine Explorers based on the reviews on this website despite having similar attractions closer to our base, but the drive was definitely worth it. Mark, our guide, is not only supremely knowledgable about the mine and the industry in general, he possesses that rare ability to enthuse other people with his mix of knowledge and humour.
My wife does not like confined spaces, but even she was reasonably happy during our two hours underground. For pretty much all of the tour, you will be able to stand upright unless you are well over 6' tall. There were a couple of times during our tour where we were asked to clip onto a safety line as we were approaching an unprotected edge, but this was as a confidence boost as much as to prevent anyone falling. Even then, if people did not feel happy to do so, then there was an alternative available that avoided exposure.
We chose the two hour tour (the one hour uses hand torches rather than helmet torches and I don't think it would give you enough time inside the mine to really get a feel for it - OK for little ones I would imagine), but we'll be back in the future for the four hour tour with its additional scrambling and exploring. It is really nice that this has not been turned into some kind of theme tour with mannequins; the mine simply contains the items that were abandoned there by workers when they left, and along with Mark's stories, really leaves it up to you to imagine what life was like for workers and their families.
When you come out, there's a decent cafe on site as well as the workshops and shops of the craft centre to enjoy (decent toilets too!)
For those who intend going - you'll need to book in advance as otherwise you won't get on a tour when you get there, wrap up warm as it is only 8 degrees C underground and wellies are available to borrow along with your helmet, battery belt and safety device should you turn up without any.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your great 5/5 review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corris Mine Explorers also viewed

 

Been to Corris Mine Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corris Mine Explorers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.