We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corris Mine Explorers

Corris Mine Explorers
Corris Craft Centre | Corris, Machynlleth, Wales
01654 761244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Machynlleth
Type: Mines, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join one of Wales' top mine explorers on an exploration of a virtually untouched abandoned Welsh Slate Mine. First worked in 1836 and abandoned by the miners in the early 1970s, more than 130 years of mining history is captured inside waiting to be discovered. It is as if the mine has just closed. Machinery, tools, even the candles and a packet of cigarettes are still in place as the miners left them. Corris Mine Explorers gives you the opportunity to visit these abandoned slate mine workings, to step into the tough working lives of the miners and of past generations. 3 trips to choose from: 1 hour Taster, 2 hour Mine Explorer Trip and a Half Day Mine Expedition.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My brother came up to visit for a weekend and I saw this as an excellent excuse to go to an attraction which had appealed for me for a long time. Corris Mine Explorers. I had read excellent reviews about it and it seemed really good. So I booked (vital) the 2 hour tour (this was my one regret-I should have booked the 4 hour tour as it involves a lot of extra stuff like climbing). The guide, Mark was really friendly and helpful. He explained about the history of the mine as well as showing me and my brother round a fraction of the place (it is really really big). It was interesting to sea equipment ranging from cigarette packets to mine train wagons where they had been left. It is a must do if you go to Mid Wales and I would recomend it to anyone. I hope I get the chance to visit again and do the 4 hour tour. Again, Thank you, Mark for a wonderful trip. 11/10.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for our first 11/10 review! And, such a detailed review too. We hope to be able to share more of the mine with you on our Half Day trip soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Family visit 2 adults + 3 children (aged 14, 12 + 8). We went on the 1 hour 'taster' tour and well worth the cost (£10 per adult & £7.50 per child). You go down the actual entrance through tunnels and into the mined caverns. The longer trips are potentially more exciting as you use ropes & harnesses. Taster trip was great for a first expereince and we would definitiely consider the longer trips. No children allowed under 8 years +++++ pre booking is esssential especially on wet days.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We're pleased to read that you and your family all enjoyed exploring with Corris Mine Explorers.
You correctly state that the minimum age for the one hour Taster Trip is 8 years old; our licence with the Adventure Activities Licensing Authority does not allow us to take children younger than 8 on the Taster Trip. Our licence also stipulates a minimum age for the 2 hour trip of 11 and for the Half Day Mine Expedition of 13.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant fun and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went on the 2 hour tour and had a great time! Mark the guide was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. He was excellent at calming some of the more nervous people in our group, and could answer all our questions. We'll be tackling the 4 hour trip next time! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We love your avatar, those hard hats and cap lamps look very familiar! Thanks for you wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on the 4 hour trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a trip....!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this highly enough, brilliant and passionate guide and a fascinating location - a must do trip

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderfully complimentary review and passionate recommendation to others to explore with us - so much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating and exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We wanted to do something different as a part of our Welsh honeymoon, and so we chose to do a four hour expedition at Corris Mine Explorers - and we were so glad we did. I was slightly apprehensive as I'm not keen on squeezing through tight spaces etc., but the tour had just enough challenge to be exciting without being terrifying! There were only four people on our tour, and our guide, Mark, tailored it to make sure everyone was happy.
What really shone through was the enthusiasm of the guide, who was friendly, helpful and incredibly knowledgeable about all aspects of the mine. So, we spent an excellent afternoon under a Welsh mountain, and emerged knowing far more about the area, its history and geology than we could have got from any guidebook.
This was a highlight of our trip, and it is well worth a visit. Older children and most adults would love the adventure, and if you have any interest in Welsh history and heritage then this is a fascinating "mine" of information.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at Corris Mine Explorers, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow, what a great review and fantastic to be told that we were the Highlight of your Welsh honeymoon - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corris Mine Explorers also viewed

 

Been to Corris Mine Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corris Mine Explorers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.