We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute pub meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Hotel

White Lion Hotel
Heol Pentrehedyn, Machynlleth, Wales
(0044) 01654 703455
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 24 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Last minute pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Good wholesome food, great value and very friendly service. We couldn't ask for more arriving last minute just before they were due to stop serving. All that a pub should be. Thank you and well done

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Waited so long, asked for our money back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After ordering my wife and I waited 30 minutes to be served ( they were not particularly busy) when we asked about our food, sandwiches and a couple of sides. We were told there was a fault with the till and we weren't the only people to have waited an exceptional amount of time. We were told our order would be rushed through, after another 10 minutes we asked for our money back and left. It wasn't a brewery but I doubt if they could have organised one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food including gluten free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very good friendly pub with a good choice of real ales. Food choice was also good, not cheap but reasonable for the size of the portions, and all meals served quickly and well presented. The serving staff were excellent, and all understood about Gluten free food, and couldn't have been more helpful, which was really appreciated, thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Excellent lunch something a bit different.

Presentation: excellent.
Service: very good.
Surrounding s: Much improved since refurbishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent Pub Grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A traditional pub menu, with a decent selection of classics and specials. It's never going to win any awards, but you know exactly what you're going to get, and it's all well cooked and tasty. Portions were huge, and great value for money, but we didn't have space for pudding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion Hotel also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.