We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Hotel

White Lion Hotel
Heol Pentrehedyn, Machynlleth, Wales
(0044) 01654 703455
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 24 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
redditch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

called in for a meal for 4 at 8pm on a saturday night was told hope your not thinking of eating because kitchen closed at 9 due to large party bearing in mind it was only 8 and they were still bringing food out to people at 8,30

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We called in on Friday night for a snack and had two Brie and bacon panninis and they came with nice chips and salad but they were approx £8.45 which we thought was a bit much for the type of place it is. Reading other reviews they say the place has just been refurbished - goodness knows what it was like before! What a shame - it could easily be made very nice. It was very busy but we wouldn't go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Ordinary!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Called here on a Friday evening on our way down to Aberdovey, very presentable from the outside but in need of some TLC inside.
We only had a Bacon & Brie Pannini with Salad & fries, they were OK but at £8.50 (approx) we thought they were a couple of pounds overpriced.
If you want a quick sandwich & a pint it's OK but thats about all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great local pub with lovely food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We're on holiday here and have visited this pub for food a couple of times.

It's not fancy, but it's very tasty and the service is really friendly - even with our 4 year old.

Would thoroughly recommend this pub for food if you're after a hearty meal to warm up or dry out :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

All in all this a fantastic pub. It's newly refurbished and very pleasant inside, while the beer garden is a fantastic place to spend an afternoon when the Sun's out. The food is very good for the price, and the staff, for the most part, are great (there's sometimes a rather moody blonde in there who always looks ready to hang herself from one of the beams on the ceiling).

Reccommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion Hotel also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.