We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergroun Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Arthur's Labyrinth

King Arthur's Labyrinth
Corris Craft Centre | Corris, Machynlleth SY20 9RF, Wales
+44 1654 761584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Corris Craft Centre, where the King Arthur's Labyrinth adventure starts, is a National Tourism Awards finalist in the Best Day Out in Wales 2015! This storytelling adventure is time travel at its best as you're swept underground by a mysterious hooded boatman and through a magical waterfall; your gateway to the Dark Ages and to the life and times of King Arthur.Once docked, your boatman guides you around the vast caverns and winding tunnels of the Labyrinth where you'll find ancient stories of King Arthur and other Welsh legends too. Enjoy stories of the mighty King Arthur who came out of the darkness to face formidable Saxon invaders, stories of dragons foretelling Celtic glory, of a giant so colossal he waded across the Irish Sea, of King Arthur's final battle - the Battle of Camlan and more; all brought to life through dramatic scenes, light and sound. This is a real adventure for young and old whatever the weather - a cool attraction when hot and a dry attraction when wet. Open: Daily 10am to 5pm from 23rd March to 1st November 2015
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tywyn
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Undergroun Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great, what fun, enjoyed the build up and boat ride and underground was a great experience. The Corris craft Centre was good and made a great viist in one stop!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Sounds like you had lots of fun - thanks for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    101
    32
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited King Arthurs Labyrinth on the 20th September 2013 in Corris while we were staying on the west coast of Wales, Its an amazing place to visit with little craft and art shops where you can watch crafts men and women at work with a chance to buy these hand made products in the well presented shops, there's a lovely café and play area for the kids, then grab a hard hat and set sail with the hooded boatman underground on this fantastic journey through the caverns.. Its a must attraction we had the most fantastic afternoon I would recommend 100 percent, Perfect for all the family all though the boat underground and walking though the caverns would not really be good if you have bad walking difficulties or are wheelchair bound unfortunately but there is plenty to see above ground in the little craft shops, wheelchair access is good above ground mostly flat, The only fee you pay is for the underground trip which is £7.20 adults and £4.75 for children the rest is free to look around.. Ian + Angie Doncaster

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
An amazing review of your amazing afternoon - thank you very much! The prices you quoted should have been £8.95 for an adult, £5.95 for a child and £8 for a senior - still great value! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We thoroughly enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Don't listen to the gripers who always have to find a reason to moan on here.... we went as a family with a six year old girl and found it to be extremely friendly, informative and visually entertaining. Yes, it does get chilly but you are deep inside a mountain where the temperature stays the same... around 10 degrees in here... All of the staff we helpful and did everything in their powers to make our trip an enjoyable experience.... we thought it was fantastic... and did not feel rushed at all... yes it is a little dark and damp but caves usually tend to be don't they?... but there is no danger of falling, tripping or falling into water as some people tend to think!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We love your review - thank you so much, always good to hear when our visitors have a great time. I'll pass your comments onto our excellent staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spooky Trip! Worth the visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect here but were pleasantly surprised. You need to book online ideally to secure your boat departure time. It is cold inside, even if it's hot outside and quite wet so good shoes needed. You board a boat with your hooded boatman (I had hoped he would be a bit more scary but he had a Brummie accent so it didn't work entirely). You are taken under a waterfall, but won't get wet and then you get out and walk around to hear the stories. It is very dark and dim and our two teenagers enjoyed it. Afterwards there is a lovely cafe with a gorgeous assortment of cakes and loads of unusual craft shops, not the usual tacky ones.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your great 5/5 review, sounds like you all had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good half day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

On a wet day this proved to be a good attraction to take the bored kids out to.

The trip around the labyrinth itself proved popular with all kids (aged 7-9) and I was surprised just how intently they followed the stories at the staged stopping points. Worth noting that if you are over 6ft tall you are going to spend half your time stooping to avoid hitting your head!

On site cafe was reasonably priced although at lunch time it was packed and getting a table was all but impossible.

The shops around the site provided some interest and all of the kids enjoyed candle making, which at £5 a child proved to keep each child well entertained for half an hour.

Overall we felt it was a good value half day out - not something we would possibly do again if we went to the area but something we were glad to have done.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're pleased that you and your children enjoyed your time with us. Should you decide to make a return visit you may also choose to enjoy our other attractions including the newly refurbished Bards' Quest, to explore with Corris Mine Explorers or to paint some pottery in the Paint Pot Studio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Arthur's Labyrinth also viewed

 

Been to King Arthur's Labyrinth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Arthur's Labyrinth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.