We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore caverns under a mountain, guided by a strange hooded figure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Arthur's Labyrinth

King Arthur's Labyrinth
Corris Craft Centre | Corris, Machynlleth SY20 9RF, Wales
+44 1654 761584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Machynlleth
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This storytelling adventure is time travel at its best as you’re swept underground by a mysterious hooded boatman and through a magical waterfall; your gateway to the Dark Ages and to the life and times of King Arthur.Once docked, your boatman guides you around the vast caverns and winding tunnels of the Labyrinth where you’ll find ancient stories of King Arthur and other Welsh legends too. Enjoy stories of the mighty King Arthur who came out of the darkness to face formidable Saxon invaders, stories of dragons foretelling Celtic glory, of a giant so colossal he waded across the Irish Sea, of King Arthur's final battle - the Battle of Camlan and more; all brought to life through dramatic scenes, light and sound. This is a real adventure for young and old whatever the weather - a cool attraction when hot and a dry attraction when wet...Open: Daily 10am to 5pm from 31st March to 2nd November 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Explore caverns under a mountain, guided by a strange hooded figure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I visited King Arthur's Labyrinth for the second time this year and it was just as good as the first time 2 years ago. This time I had my children with me and one of their friends (girls aged 11-15). After finding a helmet and watching the information and safety video, it's a moment's walk to the entrance to the caves. Around 12 of us boarded a boat that floats on an underground river and takes you deep under the mountain and through a waterfall. There is an audio accompaniment to the journey, a story that weaves fact and fiction. After leaving the boat your hooded guide takes you through a myriad of caverns that light up with wax figures as the story continues about the legend of King Arthur. Some of the caves are huge and pretty impressive (all ex slate mining caves). Once the story is over you are guided back to the boat and back out through the caverns. I thoroughly recommend this to anyone, whether with children or not as it's very entertaining something very different.
On the site there is also a good cafe, pottery painting, a toy shop, wood carving and a few other craft shops too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We love your review and are so pleased that you all had such a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    93
    30
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Remember to take a jumper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a good attraction for both kids and adults. The boat ride was good. We went when it was raining and it proved to be a very interesting trip! The attached craft centre was excellent too.Highly recommended to all ages but it does get very cold underground so remember to bring a jumper! There is some walking involved but it is all level.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Good advice for everyone to bring a jumper whatever the weather above ground!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This tourist attraction should be great. However, we were rushed round, and did not hear whole stories. The tours are at 15 minute intervals, and obviously they have to keep to a very strict timetable. The guide who walked us from the visitor centre to the entrance was so fast I considered running to catch up with him. The tour was all pre-recorded and difficult to hear at times. It would have been much better with a person narrating. The film about Rhiannon in the visitor centre completely passed us by - no idea what was going on there, and the lack of sound or subtitles is a big mistake. A very expensive hour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It was disappointing to receive your review and to hear that you felt that you were rushed to the Labyrinth entrance and also around the Labyrinth adventure. Our trips do run at regular intervals and the underground Labyrinth stories are pre-timed. However, the timing has been carefully planned so that no-one is expected to walk any faster than a steady pace (about 2.5mph) at any time during the visit.

We are also sorry that you found difficulty hearing both the underground presentations and the Rhiannon film. We will undertake checks to ensure that the sound levels are set at the correct level and adjust them where necessary.

The film about Rhiannon, which you refer to, is shown continuously throughout the day and is offered as a complimentary extra to anyone visiting King Arthur’s Labyrinth and the Corris Craft Centre. The room which houses the Rhiannon film is also used as a comfortable place for visitors to wait to go on the King Arthur’s Labyrinth trip. However, we realise that some visitors will only see a section of the film due to the limited waiting time, (perhaps this happened in your case) and so we are looking for alternative viewing material of a shorter duration which can be shown.

In the meantime, all Labyrinth visitors are welcome to return to the cinema area at any time throughout the day to enjoy the rest of the Rhiannon film (this story is taken from the ancient Welsh book of stories The Mabinogion).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Should keep the kids entertained for a while”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

fun little underground adventure. go prepared with some warm clothes and sensible footwear they will provide you with a hard hat It's cold, wet and dark!
journey starts with a short video then you're taken underground to a narrow boat for a short ride further inside, you disembark and are led through caves and through some low tunnels to various stopping points where scenes are lit up and the story continues. I would imagine kids will love it!
just outside the caves there are a number of little crafts shops to have a look around in and there is a cafe and toilet facilities

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your review, we're pleased that you enjoyed the visit. Yes, you're right, children do enjoy King Arthur's Labyrinth as do adults too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

we have been here on many occasions, as we re not lucky enough to live in wales! we come from south east London and have to say that we have nothing of the sort down in London - we have local caves but hey, not a patch on wales! this has been redone and we have been to enjoy it since, its different and Im tempted to say better but I like it both ways! they have made some small adjustments and its still great, more than worth the money which is very well priced, and I know that we will be back again, its in our top 10, the gift shop and complex is great, I always buy my incense sticks here , you cant get better! now they have a local produce shop onsite that's great, can be a little expensive but you do get what you pay for, I bought some chocys and OMG! expensive but to die for! the gift shop caters for small pockets and pocket money and there is lots to choose from. Our children are a little older now but have been coming since little and always had fun, and still do! overall - FAB!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingarthurwales, Manager at King Arthur's Labyrinth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
A star review - thank you so much. It's great to read that you have enjoyed coming to King Arthur's Labyrinth and the Corris Craft Centre for years and continue to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Arthur's Labyrinth also viewed

 

Been to King Arthur's Labyrinth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Arthur's Labyrinth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.