We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Llanwddyn
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and Spa. The hotel lives up to its hype and everything from the view to the food is absolutely faultless. The staff are very accommodating and are always eager to help in any way they can. We made use of the spa facilities which were also excellent with a magnificent view from the jacuzzi.

The only thing which was a very minor disappointment was that there were some urine stains around the toilet when we first arrived, however these were gone by the next day.

All in all a beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room facing the lake. Although this would have been desirable we spent most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
How kind of you to pen your review, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, hopefully you were here with the Spring sunshine we are enjoying. Everything around the Lake is waking up, with the water hemmed by a subtle ring of green as the trees with their "feet in the water" come into leaf first. A very special time of year for us.

Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping glitch you encountered, I am relieved that the problem was resolved by the next day. My housekeepers join me in apologies.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the lake

Best regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    259
    70
    45
    23
See reviews for
66
548
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is over twenty years since I visited this hotel, what a difference it is now to what I remember; everything about the Hotel was first class.
My wife and I attended a retirement party and were very impressed with everything about the Hotel and to top it the view of the sun setting in the evening over the hills above the Lake were spectacular and hopefully it will not be twenty years before we visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: Lake view, we did not use the Spa or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
How good to welcome you back, and a real privilege to be able to host the very important function you attended.

Twenty years is a long time, however the hotel has been in the same private and independent ownership for longer than that, and it is great to see that over time you have noticed a difference.

It has been a journey through both buoyant and challenging times, but being passionate and independent allows the team here to do things in the right way, grow the at the right times, creating an environment and experience that our guests like you can really enjoy.

I do sincerely hope we shall welcome you back here before the next 20 years is up.

Many Thanks

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked a Lake View room and it was worth the extra, although it was a long walk from reception, so not for some. The room was very comfortable and equipped as a work or sitting room with a well equipped bathroom off. Fantastic food in the restaurant and a great atmosphere. We had an early breakfast and that too was great, added to by the fantastic views over the lake which had not been visible in the dark at dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Your kind review is very much appreciated thank you. You are quite right, some of the bedrooms are quite away from the reception. This is because, a bit like "Topsy" over the years the hotel has grown and grown and grown.

Initially built in the 1890s, extended in 1910, again in the 30s. There was a major makeover in the late 80s, further bedrooms added in the mid 1990s, and in 2007 we opened another 14 rooms fantastic function, wedding facilities and the Spa.

We like to think the opportunity to sit on your own balcony watching the sun go down over the lake in utter solitude more than makes up for the walk to reception.

We hope we have the pleasure of your company again before too long.

Best regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Myself and two friends took advantage of the recent Travelzoo deal. The deal was for two people but as we wanted all three of us to share a room to avoid single room supplements, we called the hotel beforehand. The very friendly receptionist advised that this was possible, we just needed to pay th hotel direct for the 3rd person dinner, bed and breakfast rate.

We also decided to take advantage of the £25 upgrade charge to have a Superior Lake View Room to give us more room.

On arrival our room wasn't ready, which was understandable as it was only midday, so we left our luggage behind reception and went to the Tower Tavern and had a reasonably priced lunch.

We then visited the spa as we had pre-booked treatments. Unfortunately the jacuzzi wasn't working, but the staff were very apologetic and didn't charge is the £10 spa fee. We took advantage of the rest of the spa facilities and relaxed fully.

None of us could fault our treatments, they were amazing.

We then headed back to the hotel to the bar for our truffles and glass of champagne (included in our Travelzoo deal) check into our room, which had a balcony and lake view. There was plenty of room for our bags even with a large king sized bed and extra single bed in the room. We did have to call down for a 3rd mug and gown etc and we also requested an ice bucket, these were delivered to the room promptly and they even gave us extra biscuits!

The furniture and curtains etc are a bit dated (a bit chintzy) but in keeping with the age of the hotel. Room facilities included flat screen TV, table and chairs, kettle, cafetiere and nice biscuits. Lovely big bathroom with bath and separate power shower.

Dinner was amazing!! Couldn't fault one course. We had a table overlooking the lake (I think maybe these are allocated to people in Superior rooms?).

Breakfast was lovely too. Freshly cooked to order and then a buffet of cereals, fresh fruit and croissants etc.

Every member of staff was friendly, every single housekeeper/cleaner said good morning when we passed them on the way to breakfast and the receptionists at the hotel and spa couldn't have been more helpful.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review, and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time here at Lake Vyrnwy.

The window tables in the restaurant are an interesting challenge, on a summers evening everybody will request one, so we simply manage them on a first come first served basis, although often we are able to relay the place settings for later in the evening.

It does have to be said, watching the sun go down over the Lake with nice food, a glass of something decent in your hand sitting across the table form someone special really is a great experience..................

I hope we may welcome you and your friends back before too long

Best regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had heard of this hotel from friends and have meant to visit for a while now. We were attracted by the offer of a ‘Lambing Break’ with an organised visit to the nearby RSPB Organic Farm. This proved to be a fantastic experience as we not only saw lambs being born, I also had the chance (and took it!) to actually help deliver one myself….. a very moving experience.

The hotel is just wonderful. The staff is so friendly – as were the guests we got talking to. Our room (no 4) was on the first floor and had a fantastic view of the lake. So did the bathroom and it took me a while to get used to using the facilities there while also admiring the view through the clear glass. The housekeeping was ‘spot on’ and I also appreciated the slightly quirky idea of putting the soft toy puppy outside the room when you do not wish to be disturbed, or do not wish a turn down service.

We thought the restaurant was first rate and the waiting staff and bar staff were so helpful explaining what was on offer. As someone else writes the menu showed three courses but a soup taster and sorbet is included & they were delicious on both nights. There is a choice of lounges to have your coffee in afterwards and also the terrace which was a real ‘pull’ as the weather was superb. A little warmer and I would have asked for my breakfast out there!

We did not use the spa, but I think the idea of charging extra (£10 per day) is a good one. Being charged for something I do not wish to use is always a turn off for me; this way you have a choice.

We are keen walkers and bird watchers and the surrounding area offers every opportunity for both pursuits. I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and also many congratulations on joining in with the Lambing, a little piece of the ancient way of life that is still the defining force in these hills.

The intricate web that puts a 4 star hotel in the midst of a traditional rural community with the interests of an ever increasing number of enquiring and well informed visitors, viable food production, fragile wildlife and the commercial necessity to provide sustainable income in a remote rural area is complex, but it is what Vyrnwy is all about.

Stay a while in the valley and you will contribute. The young receptionist who checks you in might well be a shepherdess returned from an evening in the lambing sheds or a day on the hills. The porter who mixes a fine G&T in the Tower bar may well have combined his daily work here with time of the family farm.

The housekeeper you meet on the corridors might well have seen most of it before, she has probably been here for a few years, 30, 40, 50, and if her children or grandchildren are not working here right now, the chances are they once did. I guess that all this and more is why I am blessed with such a wonderful bunch of characters that make up the Vyrnwy team, and we all look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have just spent a fantastic two nights in this wonderful old hotel. The staff were all so friendly and helpful . On he first night we opted to eat in the tavern bar and the food was great and good value.On night two we ate in the restaurant overlooking the lake.Food was superb and the service first rate with an excellent wine selection. Our room was clean and very well equipped with a good shower,tv and fridge. This is a really beautiful part of the world and the local walks are wonderful. We will be back without a doubt and hope to try the fly fishing and bit of shooting. We had a great afternoon in the spa which is first rate ,very clean and well equipped. Its not cheap but for the standard of food and service its not expensive either. If you see this place on a vouchers site snap it up! We cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: lake side is better and come with a bath, rear rooms only have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and I am glad you enjoyed the 2 different food offerings we have, designed specifically to be very different. You might eat formally in the restaurant on one evening, and less so on another. From award winning fine dinning cuisine to a really great Burger made with Welsh Black beef mince from our wonderful butcher over the mountains in Bala.

You would be very welcome to enjoy a little fishing and shooting, not only do we have a multi trap clay shooting range a few hundred yards from the hotel, the lake its self is the second oldest stocked trout fishery in the world, and one of the finest upland lakes in Wales. Truly classical Wild Brown Trout and stocked Rainbow trout fishing.

Thank you and regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My friends and i love staying at vyrnwy so much we return every year. Its a complete treasure - a real hideaway from the pressures of everyday life. If you like tranqulity and peace this is the place. Yes it is an old hotel and there is something of the 'shabby chic' about it but thisadds to the charm. We love it and the staff are always so friendly and helpful. They even helped us dig ourcars out of the snow this time (one may even have been the manager?!).
Can't understand the negative reviews - its stunning. Food great too :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review." A hideaway from the pressures of daily life" really encapsulates what we try to achieve here very succinctly, and the good news that actually it really isn't that far away, the motorway is just over an hour, and driving the wonderful roads around here is all part of the adventure.

And yes I was to be found wrangling a snow shovel, although the wrong side of fifty to keep up with the young blades! It was an interesting few days with the biggest snow fall for several decades, the estates team were amazing. Apart from a couple of guests who blindly followed their satnavs into snow drifts on remote roads, we got everyone here and away safely. We lost power for 23 hours, but the generators held up, a few staff had to sleep over and our suppliers took detours of hundreds of miles to get food and drink to us. Simply put the show went on, the way it always has done.

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps in less challenging conditions

Regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.