We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent 2nd stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“an excellent 2nd stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our second stay here in 2 years. Went to the spa for a massage which was fab. Our room was good but modern - I prefer the older rooms in the original building. The food was good and the staff were great. All in all a lovely stay :-).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    284
    74
    55
    28
See reviews for
82
611
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, S Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a lakeside view room (room 4). What can I say? The room was perfect...the view of the lake from the bedroom and bathroom windows were a sight to behold, I'm still daydreaming about it! The bed was huge, with luxurious bedding - felt like my own so a real home-from-home experience. Tea/coffee, biscuits and water provided and replenished in the evening if required...the hotel even provided a turn-down service though we did not use it. Bathroom was lovely with fluffy towels, luxury toiletries and bathrobes provided- only downside to the room was the shower that was very small but that did not bother us. We ate at the restaurant on the first evening and enjoyed a five-course-meal that was included in the price of the stay; the second evenig was spent dining at pub attached to the hotel - both meals were divine aside from the desserts for some reason - personally, these were pretty poor. Breakfasts were lovely too and we were fortunate enough to be seated by the window hence enjoying a fabulous view of the lake on both mornings. Cannot wait to return sometime in the future and would definately recommend paying a little extra for a room with a view of the lake.
PS..please keep this a secret...its too beautiful to share lol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A lovely hotel with magnificent views of the lake - upgrading to lake view is recommended. There are acres of land with great walks. the food was fantastic - 5 fabulous courses for dinner and a great choice for breakfast.

Some rooms are dog friendly (small charge) but there are also heated kennels available included in the cost of your room. This does not mean that there are dogs all over the place - if you are not a dog lover probably wouldn't coem into contact with them.

Our room was a little tired in term sof decoration but it had a fabulously comfy bed, the furnishing were lovely and the bathroom was extremely clean and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We didnt try the spa (it is an extra cost) but it looked nice.

Its an interesting car journey to get to the hotel - be prepared for small country roads and single track in some places.

Defintiely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the champagne & chocolate truffles served in the afternoon overlooking the picturesque lake, to the superb 5 course evening meal with first class service, to the comprehensive well cooked breakfast this was a stay to remember!
A very good bedroom, four poster bed, with an outstanding view of Lake Vyrnwy providing all you could ask for.
A little disappointing that my wife could not have poached haddock and poached egg at breakfast, which she accepted gracefully, especially when another diner asked for the same, was quite abrupt and refused an alternative only to be told 10 minutes that haddock was suddenly available! This is the only reason why I have not given a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely hotel, somewhat remote, but the roads were good all the way. Everything about the hotel is first class, staff / service, amazing food. Super-spacious bedroom, with very good quality towels, toiletries, refreshments etc. We both had a treatment in the spa which was lovely and very good value for money. Five course evening meal in the restaurant was superb and afterwards we walked up to the pub that is attached to the hotel and spent a nice hour in there as well. Breakfast lovely - can't wait to return for another visit!!

Room Tip: We had one of the four-poster rooms, Number 15, which was huge and sumptous. A corner room, lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

There seems to be quite a polarisation of views about Lake Vyrnwy. What it has is character, authenticity and charm. We have stayed there many times and its location and style are remarkable, most of the rooms are different, with many items of furnture and fittings seemingly from the early 20th Century. The food has never disappointed either. It depends what you like.. an NH Hotel it is not..but they both have their place

Room Tip: Book Lake view in the main building - if you cycle round the Lake it's actually 12+ miles - not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January.Booked via Travelzoo based on dinner bed and breakfast.
Beautiful setting,pleasant walks around the lake.
Room was spacious and spotless.Good tea and real coffee making facilities.
Dinner was booked for 6.45 as we like to eat early.However we did not get to our table until 7.15 as had to wait for our meal order to be taken in the bar first.Starter was excellent,main good but tiny portion of lamb rump. Desserts disappointing,parfait was still frozen and cheesecake was tasteless.
Breakfast was taken overlooking the lake.Plenty of fresh fruit and wide range of cereals,nuts etc.Cooked breakast good, however served only half a piece of black pudding.
All staff were helpful. We asked to see a Lakeside room and saw several.Will definately return but book Room 3 next it was stunning!!!

Room Tip: We had room 41 in a new part of the hotel, very quiet but not as nice a lake view obviously!!! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.