We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Vyrnwy

Lake Vyrnwy
Off the B4393, Llanwddyn, Wales
01691 870278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Llanwddyn
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A country lover's paradise where peace and tranquility abound, this scenic lake offers an impressive mountainous backdrop and many outdoor activities such as boating, bird watching, hiking and camping.
Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Absolutely stunning scenery, the walk to the waterfall is wonderful. There is a cafe over looking the lake on a hill which has excellent customer service (unlike the service received at the cafe at pistyll rhaeadr falls) and beautiful food. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at hotel for two nights for boyfriends birthday and it was an amazing experience. Although we didn't have a lake view room, the surroundings were still stunning and the room was beautifully decorated, I fell in love with the huge bath!! Staff were friendly and chatty and we would love to go back and stay sometime soon and would recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, Manchester
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great walks and scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The walk around the lake is about 14 miles and is do-able. Alternatively there is a waterfall 2/3rds round the lake which is just over a mile to get to. This is really stunning and on a good day is great for a picnis.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
“Unforgetable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed for here for our silver wedding anniversary and found the service, food and
accommodation to be first class.
They made the evening of our anniversary very special with a glass of champagne and a
superb meal with a thoughtfull touch to the dessert.
Would recomend this to anybody and hope to return sometime in the future.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

what a fantastic hotel, we stayed for five nights in a room with a balcony which overlooked the lake, I must say one of the most fantastic views I've ever seen. We eat in the restaurant every night overlooking the lake and dam. the food and service was outstanding and worth every penny. Well done to the manager and staff you've got it spot on, thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Vyrnwy also viewed

Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys
 
Bala, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Lake Vyrnwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Vyrnwy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.