We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic country house in a beautiful part of Wales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake Country House & Spa to your Saves list
The Lake Country House & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Classic country house in a beautiful part of Wales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

After three nights in this hotel, I can certainly understand why it is appreciated by the other reviewers to date.

The buildings look like the country home of landed gentry - situated off a quiet road around 25 minutes drive from Brecon. Our bedroom was large, light, furnished in a classic style with a whole range of Molten Brown goodies in the bathroom. The sherry and biscuits were a nice touch upon arrival in the room. My husband enjoyed the small golf course - the hotel was happy to loan him golf clubs - and we over-heard lots of happy guests talking about the fishing. The food was lovely & presented very well.

Confession time? This isn't a hotel we would go back to - no 'fault' of the owners just not quite our style in terms of the atmosphere. My parents would have loved it - it was a little too formal for us. It felt a little like a private members club - with whispered conversations in pre-dinner drinks, ties and jackets encouraged for dinner, waiters dressed in morning suits.

I really would recommend this hotel to individuals who are looking for a hotel with old school charm, who have the confidence to enjoy feeling like one of the upper classes for the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    118
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
357
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

We stayed at the Lake on a cold, miserable day in April but our stay at this beautiful country house was far from cold and miserable. Log fires burned in the lounge and drawing room, surroundings were very grand but comfortable and with homely touches here and there such as favourite family photos adding a personal touch. I had booked a massage at the newly opened Kingfisher Spa and can fully recommend trying one or more of the treatments available. The owners of The Lake are charming and most sociable. Our suite had its own adjoining sitting room which was very comfortable, complete with carafe of sherry which gave us hearty appetities for the wonderful food served in the dining room. The service was impeccable but discreet - nothing was too much trouble. The whole ambience of the place was peaceful and relaxed - what a wonderful place to go and recharge batteries. We can fully recommend it

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

I must just say a few words about the Lake Country House.

We got married there last August and the hotel was fabulous. We checked out a lot of the high-end places in South Wales (Llangoed Hall, Miskin Manor and co) before choosing the Lake, and from the word go we were glad that we did.

The food is sensational. For our wedding meal we had Welsh black beef in a port sauce, followed by a pave of chocolate mousse with kahlua ice cream. It was as good as anything I have eaten anywhere - and the evening buffet and breakfast the next morning were the same.

The service, too, is exceptional. In a world of bland corporate hotels the Lake really stands out as providing highly personalised service. We had the impression that nothing we asked would be a problem, no matter what it was. In particular Shirley and Roy at front of house were superstars and went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure everyone had an enjoyable experience.

Our guests stayed with us at the Lake and a number of them still say to us how fantastic the hotel was.

Niggles? The owner can blow and little hot and cold at times; friendly and talkative one minute and less so the next. But given that he and his wife run the best hotel in Wales they can be forgiven for being distracted at times.

The Lake is a genuine find, more Country House than Hotel. It has exceptional service and exquisite food in the middle of God's own country. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

My partner and I stayed at this lovely hotel last weekend on a last minute trip to Wales. We were visiting some relatives and finding it difficult to find a really good quality hotel near to Lampeter, this was the closest we could get - we were not disappointed! We just wish we could have stayed longer! It is always difficult to know what to expect with a 3 star hotel - great facilities and not so great service - or little facilities but fabulous service and this was certainly the latter. My first experience was of course calling them to book - and the lady couldn't of been more helpful - other places had almost laughed at the fact that I was trying to book the middle Saturday in August one week before travelling! but she was so polite and even offered us a suite for the same price as a double room as the four poster room I had asked for was not available. The day before we travelled our confirmation arrived in the post and even had directions from our little town in Somerset all the way to the Hotel front door! Surprise and delight - they certainly did! On arriving at the hotel there wasn't very much room to park, but they didn't seem overly busy anyway and I think the lack of parking may have been down to the construction of a new building in the grounds which looks decidedly like it may be going to be an indoor swimming pool! Hurrah! The moment we walked through the door it was like stepping back in time, and you felt like you were walking into a really friendly but wonderfully professional family home. Our room was beautiful, lovely and clean with a view out over the river and gardens. The suite had its own little sitting room with Sherry provided! The shower a little weak, but a lovely deep bath to wallow in. Before dinner we took a walk across the grounds towards the hotel's own lake, and were accompanied by the hotel's own black labradors! It was really therapeutic to get some fresh air in this glorious countryside and borrow a pair of dogs at the same time. After a few games of "fetch" it was time for dinner. Dinner was not cheap at £40 a head but we were brought canapes with our drinks in the fabulous drawing room, and the standard of the food was out of this world. The staff were attentive, very formal and traditional but with a good sense of humour too. After dinner we sat and drank great coffee and played chess before going to bed. Comfy bed. So many hotel beds are too hard, but this one was lovely. Oh- forgot to mention the Molten Brown toiletries! Breakfast equally great - cereals and fruit in a buffet style as is normal, and toast and good choice of cooked breakfast to follow including kippers / kedgeree, and full welsh breakfast with welsh lamb sausages, egg, thick bacon, black pudding and white pudding etc etc.
Altogether I cannot recommend this highly enough. It's not the most contemporary and forward thinking hotel, but the location, staff, food, setting, grounds, accommodation and hospitality are wonderful - and I would make a dodgy trip up a busy M5, across the severn bridge and into the welsh hills again just to go here. It's 3 stars seems harsh - but maybe with the redevelopment its facilities will improve it's rating. One of the AA's top 200 hotels and I can see why.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.