We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake Country House & Spa to your Saves list
The Lake Country House & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Blyth, Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here through secret escapes and it was fantastic. The service was second to none and the food was superb. We had the 8 course taster dinner. The room was huge and very clean. Loads of fine antiques in the lounge plenty to do whatever the weather. Would definatley recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    118
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
357
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have a residential course here every year and look forward to it. The organiser Laura was very useful. good facilities. Buffet lunch was lovelyS was the evening meal. Attentive service. The rooms are lovely as was the breakfast. Diolch/Thanks. See you again

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I visited this lovely country house hotel with a friend to have a bit of a walking /spa break and decided with some anxiety to bring my 6 month old puppy as reviews said the hotel was dog friendly. We had a great time. There are beautiful grounds ( a lovely riverside walk in the grounds is a great morning dog walk). The hotel rooms both the bedrooms and lounges are country house style but very comfortable and the food and spa are great. However the outstanding thing for me was how helpful and kind all the staff were from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We ended up having all our meals in the bar area so i could bring the dog which caused a bit more work for the people who looked after us but nothing was too much trouble - the waiting and reception staff were really helpful and friendly and we were introduced to first class apple gin - it was a pleasure to stay in the hotel and they could not have been more accomodating to the dog (who didnt want to leave).I would visit again - thank you all.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read your kind comments and pleased that you (and your lovely labradoodle) had such a great time enjoying our hospitality. The riverside walk is ideal for taking a stroll with the dog and exploring our grounds and lakeside. We will pass on your feedback directly to the hotel team and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just had Mother's Day lunch. Food was outstanding as was the service. The hotel owner was attentive as ever, making sure all guests were happy. This hotel is a real gem. I've stayed twice before and never been disappointed. If you like good food, great service and a fantastic setting go to the Lake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted to hear you had such a good experience and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Spent a night here and it was, yet again superb! The atmosphere and pace is well judged and just feels right.. the main lounge is just such a great space with large sofas and a fire... wonderful.
The evening meal was beautifully cooked and the wine excellent. The only disappointment was watching the couple from our adjoining room complaining and being offered a complimentary night.. unfortunately we weren't unhappy at all.
Oh, and the dog was made extremely welcome (he liked the sausages!). Will stay again..soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A perfect setting in which to relax. The pool is excellent as is the beauty salon. The staff were extremely pleasant and the menu varied and proved delicious. The grounds are a delight to wander through with a lake , tennis courts and magnificent Welsh countryside to view. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with only the sofa needing an upgrade. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Corner suites hve lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earldson, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I have just had a fantastic 4 day break at the Country House. The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much troublers. We had a 5 month old puppy with as who wasn't used to being left in a room on his own and they happily set us up the a table in the bar so he could join us at meal times. It's a great base to walk from too and the spa with the hot tub on the deck overlooking the lake was great after a days walking even in the wind and rain. The food was fantastic too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.