We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake Country House & Spa to your Saves list
The Lake Country House & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhosneigr
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights here, to celebrate New Year's Eve and Day. The New Year's Eve celebrations were really well organised, from the champagne reception right through to the firework display. The food was excellent and the service slick. There was a very good atmosphere and the hotel is stylish yet homely: an unusual combination. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was well appointed and made the most of the walks in the woods and also the spa. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you. It is rewarding for the whole team to receive such lovely feedback like this. We hope to warmly welcome you back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    127
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
394
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from our sixth visit to this hotel. We had an excellent weekend. The rooms are large comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food is amazing and the service cannot be faulted.The spa treatments were a real treat and despite the weather we were ablle to enjoy the jacuzzi overlooking the lake. All in all one of my favourite hotels and we will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a spa package. The house is in a beautiful location, very quiet and tranquil. We found the food to be very good and of a high standard, we were very pleased.
The luxury suite we were in was good, though not quite as luxurious as I would expect for a 4* - it was a smallish bedroom, with ensuite and a separate lounge area. Everything was comfortable and clean, views from both sides of the suite were beautiful.
I had four spa treatments over the course of our stay and found all of them enjoyable. The massage from Jess was one of the best I have had in a while.
The spa itself is unlike others in that there is not really many places to relax in a robe between treatments/swimming/gym, it's more set out for you to go for a couple of hours.
We found all the staff to be very hospitable, friendly and professional. Overall a quiet great stay, which is just what we were after.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It's a ok hotel.
No spa treatments which was crazy as I'd asked only an hour after the 2pm check in !
Our suite wasn't what I'd say is a suite,no gadgets just a standard room.
Food again wouldn't blow me away.
I was booked to stay here by my office as we are looking for a decent hotel to send staff to but unfortunately this won't be it,sorry but I won't return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It is disappointing for us to read your comments and we are genuinely very sorry (and a little puzzled why) that we failed to match your expectations. Our suites are beautifully decorated and furnished, offering generous proportions coupled with spectacular garden views – all of which are far from standard. Our food is well received by guests - and we think your breakfast picture looks (and importantly tastes) delicious. As a country house hotel, room ‘gadgets’ are perhaps in less demand than our tranquil setting, spa treatments and fishing lakes. We do however apologise that you were unable to book a spa treatment directly upon request. Sometimes we can achieve this; however pre-booking is always politely advised to every guest. We genuinely wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It is ok, not over the top and an average 3 star hotel.
The suites are NOT suites, just basic rooms with NOTHING in, no decent coffee, no fridge/mini bar, no press, no hair dryer, no safe etc. etc.
Basic and well over priced.
Food average and again far far over priced.
Spa,waste of time,NO ROOM !! Whats the point in booking and not being able to use it !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we value all guest feedback and are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are however a little surprised to read your comments and would like to take this opportunity to address them.

We are a four star hotel and were recently awarded a Visit Wales gold award – an accolade given to hotels “offering the highest standards of quality, exceptional comfort and hospitality”. With this in mind, we offer ‘anytime’ room service as opposed to a mini bar and all of the other services are available on request. Our spa can get busy, as a result booking treatments for the same day can be difficult at times. In order to minimize disappointment, when confirming every booking we suggest that people book treatments prior to arrival. We’re sorry that you were not able to have a treatment and that the Lake Country House wasn’t quite right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys mid wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute getaway, It was amazing very tranquil and relaxing, had some treatments, the pool was lovely and the staff were all very friendly, due to the weather there were two power cuts, to which created a problem in the kitchen, but to be fair none of the staff got flustered, and the guests had their evening meal by candlelight very romantic! The chefs did a wonderful job out of a bad situation and food was lush.
But it didn't spoil our weekend and we will defiantly be returning,

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed last night for one evening. The weather was very bad with stormy torrential rain bursts. We entered into a warm candlelit oasis of calm!
We had a beautiful room (Master) with a whirlpool bath in the room. We used the spa in the afternoon, with a outside hot tub. pool and sauna, on the way back, the hotel was plunged into darkness, an electricity cut due to the storm, until 9pm.
We were brought candles to the room, when we went down at 8pm, evening dinner was in full swing, and 4 course dinners were presented in a very romantically candlelit dining room!
Staff are friendly, efficient and polite.
The breakfast choice of hot and cold was good. We braved a walk around the gardens and lake afterwards which would be even better on a clear day.
The owner was around last night and this morning asking if we were all okay, a nice touch, we thought.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.