We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Lake Country House & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I recently booked a two night break for my husband for his birthday at this wonderful place. His passion is fly fishing. This hotel was perfect. A beautiful Lake and River running right through the grounds. The hotel was lovely. We were greeted by a wonderful, friendly lady called Laura who took care of us so well, nothing was of any trouble at all to her. We were shown by Laura to our lovely room overlooking the front grounds of the hotel, gorgeous view. We had evening meals on both evening which were gorgeous. And breakfast was delicious. I had a spa treatment included in the package and had the most wonderful facial ever. All in all an excellent two day break which we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    109
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
338
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a wonderful relaxing stay here. The hotel was excellent, the staff friendly and accomodating.

Taster menu was excellent quality, and very delicious. Even the weather joined in, and the sun shone so the walks in the grounds amazing. Suites very comfortable.
Could go on and on, but... if you are thinking about it... and reading this. Do it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our taster menu and that the sun shone for you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I went for their sunday night tea, db&B £199 offer and thought it superb. Our room was a suite and was gorgeous...beautifully decorated with a real sense of class and design.

Tea on arrival was great...the lounge is huge and awash with light and sumptuous sofas. The spa is simple but delivers...we had a blissful 30 minutes in the jacuzzi looking at the lake listening to the birds.

Dinner and breakfast were great and the staff perfectly attentive throughout. We will return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've just returned from an overnight stay at the lake country house & spa, and have to report a wonderful location, friendly staff and mouth watering food! We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and they made our stay even more special by upgrading us to a suite. The spa treatments and facilities were excellent too - definitely would revisit and recommend it to anyone looking for an utterly relaxing get away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Wales UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just got home from an overnight last minute stay at the Lake Country House. Never felt so relaxed after staying anywhere. The Hotel and grounds are simply stunning and the room we had (with a dog!!) was fantastic. Cannot praise this hotel and staff highly enough go there!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor in the hotel they have french doors leading onto the garden, may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for such a wonderful review, our team work hard to make our guests feel relaxed and give them the perfect break so they’ll be delighted to read this review. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Yet another fantastic weekend at the hotel. It never lets us down. Perfect setting, Superb Rooms & food. We always tell friends to go there if they want a relaxing time away. It is spotlessly clean and beautiful. The staff are excellent.
If you go there you will definitely want to go back. It is just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic, quiet and delicious. Perfectly tucked away in mid Wales for a tranquil getaway. Brilliant menu and wine list. A deserted swimming pool. A wooded Bluebell scattered walk by the river and lake. Most recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells, | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.