We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cammarch Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cammarch Hotel to your Saves list
The Cammarch Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Llangammarch Wells LD44BY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at the hotel. When we arrived Kathryn made us very welcome offering us coffee and a chat. The hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment due to a fire there last year an although this was explained to us on arrival we feel this should have been explained on the booking site prior to booking.

Taking this to one side our stay was very good we had a lovely room and staff were just as friendly as Kathryn. We dined twice in the restaurant and the food choice and cooking was excellent with a very good standard of house wine to accompany our meals. The breakfasts were just as good.

If you want a peaceful break this is ideal. The tiny village does have a train station very near to the hotel.

Kathryn gave us a tour of the hotel showing us the newly furnished rooms and the ones that are to be refurbished in the future. The works here are to be completed by the end of March and will be an ideal place to stay for couples and families alike.

What sort of trip was this?
What sort of trip was this?
Business
Business
Couples
Couples
Family
Family
Friends
Friends
Solo
Solo
When did you travel?

Could you say a little more about it?(optional)
Click to select a rating
Service Service

Value Value

Sleep Quality Sleep Quality

Cleanliness Cleanliness

Location Location

Rooms Rooms

Swimming Pool Swimming Pool

Room Service Room Service

Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room

Do you have photos to share?(optional)
Add a photo
Submit your review


I certify that this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review. I understand that TripAdvisor has a zero-tolerance policy on fake reviews. Learn more

Submit your reviewPreview your review

Welcome back, Gill
SENIOR_REVIEWER
6 reviews

11 helpful votes

5 reviews until your next badge
Recent reviews of this property

23462013
5 of 5 stars
“Can't wait to return”
Despite having had a serious fire and a lot of water damage and not being able to get hold of us to let us know what had happened, Alan and Kathryn went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had a lovely room with a king sized bed, excellent food in super surroundings. Can't wait to go back when it is completely up...
more

Suzanne M
5 of 5 stars
“Truly lovely in every way!”
I recently went to visit my aunt who lives practically a stone’s throw from this wonderful hotel and when she told me that this place was the favorite among the locals I could see why. Although they were having a bit of a remodel due to a small fire the hotel was still extremely welcoming and comfortable! The public areas...
more

DaveSnowden
5 of 5 stars
“Find an excuse to stay here”
I stayed here to complete two sections of the Wye Valley walk and it is well placed for the sections from Hay on Wye the end with a mix of car and public transport. Aside from the quality of the place the welcome of the owners and their willingness to go the extra mile is outstanding. They went out of their way to meet...
more
Tips for writing a great review

TripAdvisor
Reviews and advice on hotels, resorts, flights, holiday rentals, holiday packages, and lots more!
About Us | Help Centre | Site Map | Cookie consent
© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved. TripAdvisor Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... (more)
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.

If you want a peaceful out of the way retreat this is a perfect place to stay, with a small train station on the door step in the village.

Kathryn gave us a tour of the hotel showing us all the refurbished rooms and the ones that will be done later. This work should be completed at the end of March and will be a excellent hotel for couples or families alike to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Despite having had a serious fire and a lot of water damage and not being able to get hold of us to let us know what had happened, Alan and Kathryn went out of their way to make us comfortable.
We had a lovely room with a king sized bed, excellent food in super surroundings. Can't wait to go back when it is completely up and running again.
A hotel not to be missed.

Michael and Megan - Eastleigh Hants.

Room Tip: If like Megan climbing stairs is difficult remember the accommodation is spread over four floors wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I recently went to visit my aunt who lives practically a stone’s throw from this wonderful hotel and when she told me that this place was the favorite among the locals I could see why. Although they were having a bit of a remodel due to a small fire the hotel was still extremely welcoming and comfortable! The public areas were bright and beautiful and our room was very comfortable and surprisingly large compared to some others we had stayed in in the UK. We also enjoyed a fabulous dinner with delicious appetizers and entrees served in an elegant fashion. Kathryn and Alan were delightful and charming hosts and I truly felt very at home there. I definitely hope to visit again and would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here to complete two sections of the Wye Valley walk and it is well placed for the sections from Hay on Wye the end with a mix of car and public transport. Aside from the quality of the place the welcome of the owners and their willingness to go the extra mile is outstanding. They went out of their way to meet my dietary needs and were more than willing to pick me up at the end of the day from a long walk if by any chance I missed the bus back to my car. The location is a delight, the food good and the company excellent. Go out of your way to find an excuse to stay there

Room Tip: Wireless reception is better the closer you get to the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We brought our dog as we were going to the Builth Show.We received a very warm welcome and the hosts were very attentive for our whole stay.Lovely room,nicely furnished.We were even given the privelege of eating in the dining room with our dog as in their eyes he was no trouble.Thought this was a nice touch.
What I would say to make the stay even better would be to have a larger bar,which in fact they are working on.The other point which I think was more of a issue and was evident to other guests,was that there was a lovely garden but unfortunately this could not be used as the owner's dogs were outside who were not very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked following good Trip Adviser reviews and because it was the half-way point on our journey to west Wales and a family holiday. Very warm welcome made us feel like we had visited many times, not just for the first time. Enjoyed a cool drink in the lovely garden on a very warm day before going to our room. Excellent room, massive, comfy bed and lovely old furniture, just right for the hotel. We enjoyed a very good meal in the conservatory and were pleasantly surprised that our dog was welcome to join us. Unfortunately our dog was ill during the night so we missed our cooked breakfast as we were outside trying to contact local vets at 7:00 am however the hotel owners pitched in with the telephone number and provided tea, coffee and toast for our unplanned picnic breakfast.
Thankfully, following the visit to the vets our dog made a quick and full recovery so we were able to continue on our way.
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back as you could not find a friendlier hotel anywhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent two nights here with a friend in two rooms to attend Wonderwool Wales. I booked based on the fab reviews on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. We received a very warm welcome and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are nicely furnished, clean and very comfortable. The food was all home cooked and very good. There is a good selection of wines available as well as a bar which caters to locals and holidaymakers alike. Warm and friendly with great food! I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cammarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cammarch Hotel

Address: Llangammarch Wells LD44BY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cammarch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Cammarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cammarch Hotel Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cammarch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.