We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cain Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cain Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Cain Valley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Llanfyllin SY22 5AQ , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfyllin
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we first stayed at this hotel to celebrate our engagement in 1995, it was excellent then and excellent today! we have stayed on 3 further special occasions and are just about to book again for our 15th Wedding anniversary, the rooms are very olde worlde full of character but spotlessly clean and very well looked after, the quality of the food in the restaurant is first class and possibly the reason we have returned so many times. this little hotel is very special to us and I hope it continues to be for many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
41
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penallt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly, welcoming staff who demonstrably worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. Food was tremendous value, and our party (of 20 on one night) were served impressively quickly and efficiently. Our room was huge, and well heated. The bathroom was basic, but adequate.
The locality is charming and interesting, and we discovered it is very convenient for visiting the awesome Lake Vyrnwy, and surrounding high passes towards North Wales.

Room Tip: Our large room was at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Cain is an unusual hotel with a friendly family atmosphere. The owner is charming and welcoming and the wood panelled lounge bar is lovely. The food is home cooked and the meat is supplied by the local bucher just two doors away! We both had a nice meal. I enjoyed the fishcakes, which are a hotel speciality and John loved his lamb chops and, he said, 'plenty of gravy for once'. The beer is also good. I would say a pretty good and inexpensive choice for a short stay and I also recommend the excellent and unspoilt countryside all around with some very scenic walks. The public bar is a bit noisy but then that leaves the lounge bar free of those that just want to drink and play fruit machines!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here as friends were getting married at lake vrynwy hotel. The food and staff were excellent, our room was very comfortable, and breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Really to recommend this hotel if you have a gathering at lake vrynwy . It's only 5miles away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were a party of 11 who only booked an hour before, on a saturday evening to dine in the hotel. Despite it being a large group and 8.00pm - everything we ordered was available. The service and food was excellent. Everything was reasonable priced (under £10.00 ), the drinks were also good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for my husbands birthday on dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Excellent value, lovely friendly staff. Don't book if you expect modern, this is a quaint old fashioned listed building , but is absolutely charming. Bedrooms are basic but massive. Bed extremely comfortable. Bathroom basic but lashings of hot water. Shower not fixed to wall and no shower curtain, which was slightly disappointing , but was manageable just for a weekend. Food is outstanding. Probably the best pepper steak I have ever had! Excellent value, wine and bar drinks very reasonably priced.
May be cold in the winter as central heating in room ineffective and noisy fan in bathroom ,but probably only to be expected given the age of the building. Uneven floors in room but magic mirror which made us look tall and slim ( worth going back just for that!)
Will definitely be booking again!

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but massive.ours was on front of hotel over the high street with views of hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Staying at the Cain Valley hotel is a worthwhile activity. It's a lovely old historic place that oozes tastes of the old days. The beer, the décor, the hospitality and the food all have echoes of times gone by, in a good way.

Staying at the Cain Valley hotel is like a step back in time, in a good way!

Room Tip: Take a horse and tie it up outside- just for the laughs you get from the local children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
7.6 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
18.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cain Valley Hotel

Address: High Street, Llanfyllin SY22 5AQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanfyllin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cain Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cain Valley Hotel Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cain Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.