We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country house with faultless service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Uchaf Country Guest House

Save Saved
You added Plas Uchaf Country Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Llangedwyn, Tanat Valley | nr Oswestry, Llanfyllin SY10 9LD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent country house with faultless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over for a great dinner and a shoot breakfast. The house is lovely and the service superb. The bedrooms and reception rooms are very well decorated, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
A stunning location on the side of a hill in the tanant valley. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. Perhaps we may see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Can't recommend this place highly enough.the bedrooms were beautifully decorated and the bed very comfortable. We ate dinner there one night which was superb and chris made sure my allergies were catered for which is a huge relief and worry taken care of.we were given by chris a day out route of places of interest which was a great success. The breakfasts were great and please can I have the recipe of how you do your stewed fruit I forgot to ask ,thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
No problem with the recipe, We will get it to you, Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to know that we are on the right track. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently attended a friends wedding is Oswestry and Plas Uchaf was one of the first places to come up when searching for nearby accommodation. Despite positive reviews on Trip Advisor and a fairly professional looking web site, I remained cautious as not generally a fan of BBs/Guest houses off the beaten track.

What a discovery. We arrived in the evening where the owner Chris was dutifully serving dinner to some guests. With a 6 year daughter, we expected a cosy room with a Z bed. We had a very large, elegant room with fireplace, chandelier, traditional period furniture and one of the most comfortable beds I've experienced in a hotel room. With no sight of a Z Bed, I was just about to grumble before I was escorted via a huge bathroom to an adjoining childs room. Perfect!

Superb touches throughout and way beyond many highly graded hotels. Breakfast was both excellent in style, taste and service.

A relaxing lounge where we had little time to enjoy but a full stocked honesty bar was available for guests.

A great little discovery and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. Julie and I are pleased you had a good weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this place. Don't be put off making a booking because this is a guest house and not a hotel. The service, welcome, room size and general standard of the accommodation is better than any hotel we have stayed in. Chris takes making your stay comfortable very personally and we were welcomed with coffee and cake as we arrived a little early. There is a nice lounge room with a small bar to relax or you can pop to the local pub for good food and drink. (I believe the guest house can do an evening meal if booked in advance - which is breakfast is anything to go by would be well worth trying)

Breakfast was also excellent.

We really can't wait to go back and would highly recommend giving this place a try if you want a quiet break in the countryside with a first class welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We would be delighted to see you again and i can confirm that we can provide a two or three course evening dinner if given 24 hrs notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for our run around Lake Vyrnwy, our one night stay was far too short.
With so much to get just right, owners of guest houses have no easy task day after day. But here at Plas Uchaf, they got pretty much everything perfect.
The driveway up was very neat and a little dramatic as you climbed up to gravel parking area.
Our host was very welcoming and informative, notably reminding us if the free Wifi throughout and the pass code for it. Other hotels please take note.
The rooms and bed linen were luxuriously clean, the tea point was well stocked and worked, the TV was clear and modern, the rooms were tastefully decorated by someone with an eye for colour compatibility.
The bathroom across the landing had oak floor boards were a foot wide and had that unique mid brown colour that was refreshingly beautiful, and it didn't matter that it wasn't ensuite - it would have ruined the character of the place and sliced away useful bedroom space at great expense - so I would say to the owners to leave the bathroom there and thanks for stocking it with tasteful toiletries and furniture especially the rattan chair.
The location in the Tanat valley is steeped in history, which we read about in their fabulous sitting room stocked with gorgeous travel books while we sipped our welcome coffees. We have to return to explore but at night the area is silent apart from the hooting owl, mooing cows, and the whisper of one's body sinking into the mattress as sleep beckons...
We were lucky to be first up and get first pick of breakfast table, so we sat by the window overlooking the croquet lawn. All the tables had freshly cut, achingly beautiful miniature lillies in a vase, and the food was part very healthy for us runners in the form of fruit cocktail and cereal, and indulgent vegetarian cooked breakfast with toast, and we were served soya milk which not all places can supply despite warnings that we are vegetarian/ vegan but Plas Uchaf did and we are very grateful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Julie and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to see you again. Thanks for the very positive review. Hope your run went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holyhead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived on the long driveway and was blown away by what came into view. It was a beautiful country house that was very grand. We were met by Chris who made us so welcome. He sat us down in the lounge brought us coffee and cream scones. His customer service is second to none. Friendly, warm and charming, We were then taken to the Garden room which also blew me away. It was a twin and when I explained I wanted a double he offered a double straight away in the main house. But as I loved the Garden room I declined. By the time we enjoyed a beautiful evening meal, and believe me having a meal in the house is such a treat as they use there own produce from there allotment and local produce, Each bite is worth savouring. We returned to find a double mattress and duvet had been put in the room. How is that for customer service. We sat in the early evening on the patio set with chickens walking around us and the most fantastic view I have ever seen. And late in the evening listening to a Barn Owl and two Tawny Owls with a hot drink. I could gush for hours and I know there is something I have missed like the gorgeous breakfast. Which was vegetarian for my husband and myself but the meat option looked just as lovely. Please check this gem out and put yourself in the hands of hard working Chris and Julie. Check out the lawn croquet and tennis court.

Room Tip: All good rooms. But garden room away from house making it unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Julie and I love the owls as well. Still plenty of birds to listen to although some of the summer visitors are gathering ready to return south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanybydder, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a beautiful place in a stunning location. Excellent welcome and breakfast. Rooms very well decorated. Such a pity we were only there for one night. Great for a quiet, relaxing break. Fantastic service, very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plas Uchaf Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Uchaf Country Guest House

Address: Llangedwyn, Tanat Valley | nr Oswestry, Llanfyllin SY10 9LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Uchaf Country Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Plas Uchaf Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.