We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knighton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knighton Hotel to your Saves list
Knighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

wonderful stay. A beautiful hotel that has been refurbished to a high standard. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble, very polite and helpful.
We stayed in the Orangerie room with its glass ceiling and panoramic views on three sides. Lying in bed looking at the stars was an experience never to be forgotten. The room was beautiful and also included a jacuzzi bath and power shower, wonderful.
The breakfast was top notch and set you up for the day. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
Big thank you and well done to all the staff and management for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very good ,but if you can try for room 29.the orangierie it will take your breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
47
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent our last night here after walking part of the Offa's Dyke Path. All started well when we were checked in early by a very welcoming young man. The room was comfortable with great bathroom facilities. Had a reasonable nights sleep, despite the heat. However the whole experience was badly let down by the breakfast experience. When the food eventually arrived the order was wrong but by now we just needed to eat. The scrambled egg was dry and frankly the smallest portion I have ever had in a hotel anywhere. It was a shame to leave on a bad note because the recent renovation of the Knighton Hotel has been extremely well done and deserves better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here recently and was quite impressed. Staff were very helpful, room was adequate with a massive wet room which was great. I had a single room but you have everything u need I.e. tea/coffee, biscuits, hair dryer. I also ordered food in the main restaurant and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality. Great little stopover if visiting that part of Wales.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ended up in the Knighton Hotel unexpectedly after another establishment messed up our booking. We were warmly greeted by Derek who as it turns out does just about everything, from reception to bar, to serving in the restaurant. The room was on the pokey side with a wetroom that had generous quanitites of toiletries. Not sure about the wisdom of having a mirror right next to the shower though. The young locals were lively and had sunk a few by the time we had pre dinner drinkies on the deck outside and entertained us by lobbing chips around. Husband got hit on the back by a very large chip! They did look good on the plus side. Food in the restaurant was not gourmet but tasty and really good value for money. The beef curry was great. Only 3 tables were occupied with one lot just finishing as we sat down and service was on the slow side until Derek got involved. Waitress was friendly. We had a rubbish nights sleep courtesy of the noisy kids making a racket outside at 1.30 am.Hot night with no air con meant open window! We had to close it. Breakfast was on the small side and it was annoying having to make your own toast especially with a queue for the toaster. All in all not what we had planned because of earlier problems but Derek was fab!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked in at the end of our first week of our offas dyke path walk. The rooms are lovely with great bathrooms....either jacuzzi bah or wet rooms. We had dinner and were brilliantly served by a lovely waitress and the food was superb. Breakfast sadly was a bit of a mix up and took an hour to serve due to a new trainee chef were told. That's the only reason it didn't get a 5. Recommended.
Ps take 5 mins to look the Tudor function room......excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went as a party of 7 for a carvery, we could not fault it pently of space around our table, comfy chairs, lovely staff and the meat was melt in your mouth with plenty of choice of vegs. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We purchased a voucher for a 2 day break at Knighton as we wanted to break our journey on our way further north. The hotel was quite old with a beautiful sweeping staircase located in the middle. Our room was very spacious with king size bed,jaccuzi bath with shower over.Our room overlooked the high st. with large windows. It was very comfortable. The food was good & we had the special menu 3 courses for £14.95 which was excellent & the dining room was lovely. Only drawback was a large party staying at hotel & if you arrived while they were there you had to wait ages for the food. However we were given a complimentary drink as we were waiting quite a long time.Breakfast was quite good but again you had to time it right as the food for the large party soon disappeared before we got there. Scrambled egg was a bit dire but rest quite good. Staff were friendly & helpful. Would stay again on a deal if in that area again

Room Tip: room 11 was excellent but a little traffic noise (not too much)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knighton Hotel

Address: Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knighton Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.