We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, great restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knighton Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Tingo.com
and 1 more site!
Knighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Knighton
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“High quality, great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked in at the end of our first week of our offas dyke path walk. The rooms are lovely with great bathrooms....either jacuzzi bah or wet rooms. We had dinner and were brilliantly served by a lovely waitress and the food was superb. Breakfast sadly was a bit of a mix up and took an hour to serve due to a new trainee chef were told. That's the only reason it didn't get a 5. Recommended.
Ps take 5 mins to look the Tudor function room......excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
40
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went as a party of 7 for a carvery, we could not fault it pently of space around our table, comfy chairs, lovely staff and the meat was melt in your mouth with plenty of choice of vegs. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We purchased a voucher for a 2 day break at Knighton as we wanted to break our journey on our way further north. The hotel was quite old with a beautiful sweeping staircase located in the middle. Our room was very spacious with king size bed,jaccuzi bath with shower over.Our room overlooked the high st. with large windows. It was very comfortable. The food was good & we had the special menu 3 courses for £14.95 which was excellent & the dining room was lovely. Only drawback was a large party staying at hotel & if you arrived while they were there you had to wait ages for the food. However we were given a complimentary drink as we were waiting quite a long time.Breakfast was quite good but again you had to time it right as the food for the large party soon disappeared before we got there. Scrambled egg was a bit dire but rest quite good. Staff were friendly & helpful. Would stay again on a deal if in that area again

Room Tip: room 11 was excellent but a little traffic noise (not too much)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here on a 2 night stay with Go Groupie,what a lovely Hotel,it was refurbished about 3 years ago and what a good job they did,Grand staircase,lovely modern rooms,We were in room 21 which had a jacuzzi bath and was front facing, its also got a lovely bar and restaurant..

We had a phone call the day before arriving to say they were having a music event and that there would be late night noise,to be honest the noise on the street outside was louder,didn't bother us but would maybe suggest a room at the back for less noise.. All the staff were very friendly,especially Tracy.. Knighton is a small place so not a lot going on unless you like walking, eating and drinking but the Train station is close by for a trip to Shrewsbury,,

Room Tip: We were in room 21,nice large room with jacuzzi bath,large tv,hairdryer, tea/coffee and shower gel,s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We live in London and our last visit to your restaurant in March 2012 was a triumph - friendly, helpful and attentive staff and wonderful, even exquisite, food.

One year later and what can I say? The staff were still friendly, helpful and attentive but this time the food was exquisitely diabolical - tough and dry gammon with a weird spongey texture, extremely fatty lamb with very little actual meat, dried out fish in a mountain of greasy batter which weighed more than the fish itself and mushy peas which were actually ordinary peas bashed to within an inch of their lives and therefore dry and mostly consisting of skins.Truly horrible!

What on earth has happened? We were told that the usual chef was having a day off. What manager in their right mind gives the head chef the day off on a Saturday, probably the busiest evening of the week.

I am really sorry to have to send such a negative review but please Knighton Hotel Management, get back to where you were a year ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great hotel in the middle of the English/Welsh border and well worth a visit. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Giving excellent advice to all our enquiries about the town and surrounding area, as well as the hotel. It has a fascinating galleried stairway with plenty of room to walk around and a pleasure to behold. The bedroom was a good size, very clean with a great bathroom and plenty of tea and coffee etc. Our room was nice and peaceful being at the rear of the hotel, with nice views across the hills surrounding Knighton.

The resturant is brilliant and recently refurbished, it has enviable clean, smart lines. The food is excellent and a fair price, even if i was just visiting the town I would go in there to eat.

I liked this hotel very much - go!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back no 26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It does what it says on the tin. Excellent value for money, comfortable bed, well kept premises And good staff. Its great to see a small hotel still doing well despite travel lodges dominating the market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knighton Hotel

Also Known As:
Knighton Hotel Wales
Address: Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knighton Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Knighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Knighton Hotel to your Saves list