We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Knighton Hotel to your Saves list
Knighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have recently returned home from a two night stay at this hotel. We had booked via KGB deals and only paid £89 for two nights b&b. This was an EXCELLENT deal!!!. We stayed in room 21 which was a Superior Room which overlooked the main street and had a jacuzzi bath/shower.
The views from the room were lovely of the countryside, and was very spacious, with three full windows and a sofa to watch the goings on!.
The resturant was superb, we had an evening meal which was absolutely delious, we could not understand why it was not fuller, they definately have an excellent chef.
Breakfast was the same excellent quality, the only one thing and this is being very very picky, is that the only fresh fruit was whole and not cut up so difficult to negotiate. (I did say very picky!!!)
The staff were very very friendly and attentive, and always had a smile and said hello.
We also had a drink in the Horse and Jockey and George and Dragon but only ate at the hotel, which we cannot recommend enough.
Would definately return and recommend.

Room Tip: Room 21 at the front of the hotel good size and lovely views, a little noisy first thing but we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
47
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Pretty little hotel in the centre of this tiny town. Staff were great- friendly and kind as well as efficient. Room quiet and smart and breakfast good. My two, separate requests for a bath mat and a sheet for the bed (the room was warm) were dealt with quickly and pleasantly. My only observation is that it's a shame they hadnt redecorated over the old water leak damage on the wall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked this hotel as a special treat for our anniversary.

We were booked in for the Friday and Saturday night, unfortunately we had to work on the Friday so couldn’t leave until about 7pm, so I called the hotel to let them know we may be a little late arriving, which the young lady said would be fine.

We arrived at the hotel just before 10pm after travelling for almost 3 hours, we didn’t have food before we left as we thought we would pick up something when we got there, we were both quite hungry when we finally arrived, I asked the lady at the reception if they were still serving food as the restaurant seemed quite busy, she told they had stopped serving, so I asked if maybe we could get a sandwich or something light, she said they couldn’t do anything for us, so we took our luggage upstairs to our lovely room which was overlooking the town.

We then went down to the lounge for a well needed drink, I asked at the bar if there was anywhere we could perhaps get something to eat outside the hotel and was told there was an Indian restaurant or a Kebab house! So we decided to just pop out and pick up something from the kebab house, which we really didn’t fancy but had no option, before we left I asked what time the bar closed (remember it is a Friday night) and we were told last orders at 10.45pm (I have never been to a hotel where the bar closes to residents, especially that early). I then asked what was the latest time we could come down for breakfast on the Saturday morning the lady told us we had to be down by no later than 8.45am, I thought this was a little early.

So off we went to get some food and went straight back to our room. We set our alarm for 7.45am to make sure we were up for breakfast (yippee, I am not a very good morning person) hahah.

The next morning I had a little look at the information on the hotel, and was most annoyed to read that they actually will deliver sandwiches etc to your room until 11pm in the evening and that the bar is open to residents until they leave, and that on the weekend breakfast is served until 9.45am!

Apart from this the hotel was lovely, the breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere, and the rest of the staff were very friendly.

On the downside there is nowhere to go outside the hotel, there is literally two other pubs, and neither were very friendly, a lot of youngsters and they didn’t make you feel very welcome.

Shame as the little down during the day is very pretty, but I won’t be back.

Room Tip: Ideal if you like a very quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overnight stay at the Knighton was delightful. Spacious double room + jacuzzi bath, all beautifully clean and well decorated. We ordered sandwiches at lunch time - real belt busters! Breakfast & dinner were of a very high standard. Staff friendly, helpful & welcoming especially young lad on reception/bar duty & dark haired young waitress at dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Haven’t stayed at the hotel – only eaten in the restaurant. What a wonderful surprise. The restaurant has gone through quite a few incarnations over the last few years. At last the people who have taken over know what they’re doing. Very friendly welcome and first class service. The menu was imaginative and the food excellent and, compared to some of the restaurants in the area, very good value. I could not recommend the restaurant more highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is our second stay in the Knighton Hotel, as Knighton is the starting point of the Transcambrian cycle route.
As usual the staff are incredibly welcoming, friendly and very helpful, storing the bikes in their cellar overnight for us. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped although the showers aren't very powerful. There is a cozy bar and a restaurant and breakfast room. Unfortunately this year we couldn't have a cooked breakfast because the torrential rain overnight had flooded the kitchens, but last year it was very good.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy with traffic, although as Knighton is a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were met at reception by helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. We used the wheelchair accessible bedroom on the first floor where there was plenty of space to transfer to the bed which was at the right height. The ensuite wet room was also well designed and modern. All function rooms were level access and the lift was a snug fit for the wheelchair and pusher! The Sunday carvery was excellent and good value for money. Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knighton Hotel

Address: Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Knighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knighton Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.