We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy,old fashioned pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hundred House Inn

Hundred House Inn
Bleddfa, Knighton, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Knighton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cosy,old fashioned pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited this pub for an evening meal and there was plenty of choice on the menu although it was officially "steak night". The atmosphere was friendly and the food cooked to order. It was all freshly prepared and delicious as well as being reasonably priced. We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Called here lunchtime for a coffee stop on way back from Wales break. We were so impressed with the lunch menu we asked if we could just have two starters as we had already eaten two large cooked breakfasts.
My goats cheese and red onion chutney tartlet was tasty and the pastry divine. Partner's black pudding based starter was also excellent.
Nice log fire and good beers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Proper pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went here with friends who live in Clun, it was a vile wet evening but the pub had a log burner and the radiators on so we soon warmed up. The menu had a good variety and was well priced, the banana split I had was world class. For 4 adults and 2 children it was under £70 bargain

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We strongly recommend this Inn for a really good evening meal. Here is good food cooked well and served in a cosy dining area (log fire) with quick and efficient service. Portions are lorge and food very tasty.Especially recommended are the salmon with dill sauce, "pork and black", and the mixed berry crumble or gooseberry crumble. One of the best kept local secrets. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Bad Not Great but substantial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited this pub/restaurant on a Sunday in August and to be fair it was very quiet as the weather was appallling (as is its wont in the welsh hills) so the pub lacked atmosphere, patrons or staff on this miserable wet evening.

The staff who were there looked after our group very well and had the food been of a higher standard we would have been very happy with the experience as the pub is well appointed and the tables and seating are comfortable.

It really is a nice old rambling pub for a large group with kids but with a modern outlook where it fits, for example, there are still old inglenook fireplaces with seats in them but rooms are comfortably furnished with modern tables and chairs for eating.

The menu is varied and includes a good vegetarian range plus a blackboard of the days specials however it didnt quiet work out for us on the night but Im not going to go overboard, it could have been a bad night all round.

It was adequate and the wine was good and the local cider was excellent.

We will go back when the weathers set fairer for a Sunday lunch as this is a nice place to visit and the staff try hard to look after you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hundred House Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hundred House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hundred House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.