We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aleppo Merchant Inn

Aleppo Merchant Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aleppo Merchant Inn to your Saves list
Aleppo Merchant Inn
Carno SY17 5LL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Carno B&B and Inns
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very helpful staff, excellent value and great breakfast in the morning. Room was nice, clean, plenty big enough and we were made to feel very welcome and looked after well by the staff. I would recommend the Aleppo Merchant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went here to take part in a rally driving course (Higgins Rally School, absolutely brilliant!) and it is a good, straightforward place to stay. Clean room, good shower, full-on breakfast and excellent value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, 2 rooms. Found through booking.com but cheaper direct, £65 a double room with breakfast. Was disappointed when sign said no availability for evening meal, but when we asked a table had been allocated if we required it - nice touch. Both rooms large and reasonably clean, maybe could have done with quick dust over but certainly no problem. Had some problems with tv but did come & sort it. Tea & coffee with biscuits supplied. Meal was superb, excellent value, drinks from bar great value £1.60 for a single spirit 40p for mixer & £2.70 a pint of beer !!!! Asked on evening for what we wanted for breakfast and at what time.
Great nights sleep. Cooked part of breakfast better than many we've had in 3 star hotels!! Cereal & juice basic but plenty tea & coffee.
Will defiantly recommend to family when we have a wedding nearby in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just happened across this place whilst staying at a (supposedly) gourmet hotel and restaurant in nearby Llandidloes, and this was by far the best meal of our stay! An unassuming little pub from the outside which belies the treats contained within - of warm friendly staff, superbly cooked excellent value Sunday roasts, with high quality meats, fresh veg and tasty gravy prepared by an expert hand. Vegetarian roasts are available too. The wines are reasonably priced too with a highly quaffable Merlot at £11.95 - served at an appropriately ambient temperature. This family run establishment is well worth a detour in an area of Wales which seems to be a bit of a culinary desert. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Aleppo Merchant is basically a pub with rooms. The staff are very helpful and will go that extra mile to make sure you get a meal if you are, for example, arriving late. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if a little tired in terms of decor. Updated matresses would help some beds. One problem is the plumbing. Some bathrooms are fitted with macerators which sound like a tractor starting up when a loo is flushed. Can disturb guests in rooms nearby. Road noise is also an issue for rooms at the front of the Inn. Despite the Inn's rural location, locals thrash through the village at an alarming speed (several ending up inthe graveyard which is just over the road from the Aleppo). However, the Aleppo is excellent value and I would stay again for a short visit. The food in the restaurant was good country pub fare, and again good value.

Room Tip: Opt for one away from the road. In winter, check if the rads have thermosatic valves. You can be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at 2.10 , lunch had finished at 2pm, on a wet Wednesday in October. We had driven up from Tintern Abbey and were looking forward to lunch having found the pub in the Good Pub Guide 2012 . When we arrived the barmaid greeted us warmly and asked had we wanted lunch? We said yes and she asked the kitchen and they agreed to give us anything off the lunch menu. We had two cheese and had ham toasties with yummy well- cooked chips and two pints of Sunshine Ale from Monty's Brewery in Montgomery. A perfect lunch! Thanks very much to the charming barmaid and cook who stayed late to make our lunch.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Aleppo last weekend (7-9 Sept) and stayed in room 4. Having stayed in a variety of BnB's, hotels etc, I can honestly say this was one of the best.

Firstly you are greeted by a warm and friendly bar with staff to match and shown to a comfortable, clean and warm room. After settling in we went for dinner and drinks. The food was fabulous (we had breakfast, lunch and dinner) and all consistently good.

We tried to get a taxi to a function we were going to up the road, and in the absence of any taxis the barman and landlord were able to help us out - which was a really lovely touch.

All in all this place is fabulous, and if I could give it 12/10 then I would!!

Room Tip: Room 4 is the double which is on their website, and is just as it looks, very comfy bed too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aleppo Merchant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleppo Merchant Inn

Address: Carno SY17 5LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Carno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aleppo Merchant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aleppo Merchant Inn Carno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleppo Merchant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.