We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Boat House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ystradgynlais, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in October after a 'spur of the moment' decision to get away for the night. The welcome and room completely exceeded our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was tastefully furnished, lovely size, comfortable and had everything one could wish for. I have to mention the view from the room too, of the castle and estuary, we stated in Taf. The breakfast was plentiful and certainly set us up for the day, it was gorgeous!
We would definitely recommend to others and return to stay again. Thank you Anne for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
95
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our one night stay at The Boat House BnB was entirely satisfactory. Despite its rather plain exterior, the interior was a very pleasant surprise. Our room was very spacious, very clean, modern and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and bath towels were of excellent quality. The breakfast room was a delight, well stocked with cereals and fresh fruit, and the cooked meal scumptious. The location of The Boat House was central to the village amenities and car park, and our room, the Taf, overlooked Laugharne castle and the walking path to the Dylan Thomas Boatshed. Any reservations we might have had about passing traffic evaporated as we both slept soundly undisturbed. For anyone looking for a first class stay in Laugharne, we unhesitatingly recommend The Boat House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Comfortable accommodation , lovely choice of food for breakfast and a warm welcome from our hostess . The situation of the house is very convenient to all the village amenities and Dylan Thomas old haunts.

Room Tip: Ground floor room very suitable for disabled .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is an excellent B&B... no doubt about it. Although it looks quite plain from the outside, the interior is splendid. It's an old building that has been very tastefully modernised and decorated. Fixtures and fittings are solid, and the generous sized beds were very comfortable. The whole place was spotlessly clean. There are plenty of pictures on the walls, and if you like any of them, you can buy them. It's like staying in an art gallery. The breakfast choices were among the best I have come across in a long time, with everything cooked from fresh. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful. The house is in the middle of the village, more or less facing the castle and estuary. Walk in one direction to Dylan Thomas' Boat House, and in the other direction along Dylan Thomas' Birthday Walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely accommodation...the perfect spot for our relaxing break in Laugharne.Ideally situated by the castle car park(free!)although there is off road parking to the rear of the building.Our room...the Taf...was a generous size with good facilities and plenty of seating.Very nice breakfast with a good selection of cereals,herb omelettes, smoked salmon & scrambled egg, mushrooms on toast...as well as the traditional full English breakfast.
Anne is a very attentive host & nothing is too much trouble...she even kept the plants we had bought from the Wednesday car boot well watered.
Plenty of places to visit, including Pendine Museum of Speed & Amroth Beach.One drawback beyond Anne's control is the dearth of good eating places in the town itself.For quality food we had to widen our net & the highlight of the week was the superb Amroth Arms on Amroth beach.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Boat House B&B to people who are seeking quality at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A wonderful stay in an excellent B&B, friendly and faultless. The Boat House was situated directly adjacent to the car park overlooking Laugharne Castle and the estuary making it easy for the many beautiful walks in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs, all rooms however were a good size, quiet, with excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was my second stay. The Boathouse is a great place - it has the facilities of a first class hotel, with the personal and friendly service of a B&B. The tea and coffee making facilities are really good, with lovely touches like homemade biscuits and the opportunity to make instant or filter coffee. Anne is a great hostess and was really helpful to me when my car had broken down and I ended up having to stay an extra night. Breakfast is lovely, and the location is amazing, right opposite my favourite place in the world, the estuary overlooked by the castle and Dylan Thomas's Boat House. I would highly recommend a stay here, and a visit to Laugharne. You will feel much better for it, guaranteed!

Room Tip: I've stayed in both ground floor rooms and they're both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boat House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Boat House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Laugharne
The Boat House Bed And Breakfast
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast Laugharne, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.