We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips in the village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle View Fish Bar

Castle View Fish Bar
Grist Square, Laugharne, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Laugharne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Only tried the place once, was very impressed with the quality, the chips were tasty and the fish meaty. Its situated opposite one of the pubs and next to the car park-very handy

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The fish and chips were excellent as were the home made haddock fish cakes. The staff were friendly - as was everyone we met in Laugharne.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real cod chips and peas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We took takeaway cod and chips and haddock and chips and were served quickly and the food was cooked fresh. The cod was excellent although there were a few bones in the haddock. It was a large portion and we probably could have got away with one between two. Superb with a pint of bitter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than a fish and chip shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived for our week in Laugharne later than expected and a fish and chip supper in our holiday cottage seemed an attractive idea. The staff were welcoming and chatted with us while our cod was freshly fried. The chips were very good, made from locally sourced potatoes and the fish was a good size with a light and crisp batter. Later in the week tried the f@ggots which were excellent and locally made as are the pies. They oven bake cod if you don't want batter and they also offer other options such as mashed potatoes and salad. Wish they were my local!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

You will recieve a very warm welcome at this lovely fish and chip shop. Fish is cooked to order, the fish is very generous in quantity but they also do cod bites too (which I love as well as the kids!). Also a selection of other chip shop things on the menu. Lovely mushy peas to accompany your delicious meal and a fab cup of tea too! Best chips we've ever tasted!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle View Fish Bar also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Castle View Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle View Fish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.