We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corran Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Corran Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Corran Resort & Spa
East Marsh, Laugharne SA33 4RS, Wales (Formerly Hurst House on the Marsh)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Laugharne B&B and Inns
MrsBarnes88
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic break at The Corran and had to write a worthy review right away. The hotel is surrounded by breath-taking countryside and just a short drive from some amazing beaches. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who instantly made us feel welcome. The décor of the entire hotel is very high end boutique and the bedrooms are individually decorated adding an extra special touch. The food was excellent and the menu very creative and breakfast was delicious. The highlight of our stay was making use of the pool, jacuzzi and spa treatments. We loved every minute.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    63
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
139
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A quiet retreat, yet not far from excellent beaches and holiday resorts. Some of the rooms are excellent, but the older ones are a bit tired. However expansion is planned.
The ground s could be lovely, but very little has been done to make them interesting.
Food very good.
The spa area is small and a bit pokey, but understand this is one of the areas that is planned for improvement.
If you like shabby chic, you will probably like this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham St Faith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I wanted a short break in and around an area I know well, and on recommendation from friends who had visited The Corran for afternoon tea we decided to make a reservation. The booking over the phone direct with the hotel was easy, courteous and efficient. Lauren who took the booking listened to my requirements and confirmed everything quickly. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Jodie who made us very welcome and from the start. She gave an aura of caring attention which was echoed by all the staff we came into contact with.The food was very good, albeit we did only use the restaurant for dinner once as we were out with friends in the area at other times. Breakfast excellent with good choice and fresh produce and attentively served. We were impressed with the room size and facilities, and the absolute quiet given the remote location of the hotel was a joy. The only sounds being the odd cow and maybe sheep. Friendly, clean, relaxing and good value. We need to return and sample the spa next time. To all at the Corran, thank you and well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel and spa has a high end boutique feel with great friendly staff who accomadate every request I had made. The food was excellent with some really inventive dishes that show creativity but dont compromise on taste. The rooms are fantastic with great decor and modern tech, it puts to shame many of the other hotels I have to stayed in. The surrounding area is very beautiful and with a little research there are some fantstic spots within 15 mins drive. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this location as a small intimate spa and hotel to stay either as a break or on business. One enhancement would be to have an all in stay and meal package.

Room Tip: Try the rooms with a spial staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was stylishly decorated but felt a little barren. The restaurant is a large open long space which did not feel very intimate in the evenings. The floors are tiled or floorboards throughout which looks good, but isn't very comfortable to live with. We could hear people on all the hard floors from our room and makes the place feel a bit hollow, It is probably better in hot summer than at cooler times, This is just my personal taste but a cosy sofa or a rug somewhere would have been pleasant.
The food was very good, particularly the breakfast, which had a lot of choice and was beautifully cooked.
The evening menu is a little expensive for the main courses.
The gym was very small, literally 3 machines and my husband likes to use a gym on holiday and this was one of the reasons we'd booked. There were no free weights.
The swimming pool is also very small and not for exercise, just floating in.
The area immediately around is not very beautiful, quite marshy.
The approach road doesn't look as if it's been finished yet as the road is rough stone along with the carpark.
We did book through a discount holiday company for £100 a night including breakfast, which was about right, I wouldn't have wanted to pay the standard rates which are I think between £150 and £200 a night.
The bedding was good, a nice down quilt and comfortable pillows but the bed was a bit firm for my taste.
The bathroom was very glamorous.
The staff did their best to make this a pleasant experience and the service was good.
Not enough either at the hotel or in the immediate area to induce us to return though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

One night stay to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely room with mezzanine bedroom accessed via spiral staircase, plenty of tech B&O tv and sound system. Very nice dinning room, good staff, delicious food. Will come here again and try the spa facilities next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the night. What a lovely setting. Room very nice. Staff excellent. Food very good. Felt welcome and relaxed. Enjoyed the facilities. Will return and recommend. It was our anniversary and the staff helped the night feel extra special, which was appreciated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corran Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran Resort & Spa

Address: East Marsh, Laugharne SA33 4RS, Wales (Formerly Hurst House on the Marsh)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corran Resort & Spa offers a taste of luxury, hidden in the marshlands of the Carmarthenshire countryside. Our vision at this boutique haven is simple; to provide guests with great service, food and surroundings. Ensuring your stay is special and filled with lasting memories is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Corran Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corran Resort & Spa Laugharne, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corran Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.