We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Laugharne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Shed Experience

Tin Shed Experience
Montague House | Clifton Street, Laugharne SA33 4QG, Wales
07974106157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Laugharne
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tin Shed Experience is a second hand tin sheeted museum housing a collection of items from 1914-45 and wartime items including some film memorabilia and props. We have a victory garden complete with Anderson Shelter and links with historical film and television productions such as 'Band of Brothers' and 'Saving Private Ryan'
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem in Laugharne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a little gem! The volunteers were very welcoming and enthusiastic. The day we visited, there was a horse drawn ambulance and cavalry horses on display along with their drivers and riders, all appropriately dressed for the era. The normal admission was waived in favour of donations - to be made in an authentic WWll fire bucket. Veterans of WWll were admitted free of charge - a nice touch.

The informal guided tour was excellent and informative.

The volunteers are working towards establishing a small street scene, with a cottage and small house and I wish them every success in this venture.

A must see when in Laugharne.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place Great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

everyone at the tin shed is very very nice, and gave everyone a warm welcome. they took us around the museum, and was very knowledgeable about the subject, this place is a MUST for self proclaimed history buffs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Warmest welcome you can possibly receive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As part of the University of Wales Trinity Saint David, myself and 10 of my class mates performed our show 'Bags, Tags and Gasmasks' at the Tin Shed Experience. From the very start we received nothing but the warmest of welcomes, as well as 'shed' loads of experience to help us produce a piece we were immensely proud of. Everyone at tin shed made the experience one of the greatest of my university life, and I shall definitely be going back.

as well as the friendly atmosphere, the sheer knowledge and expertise given in addition to authentic war and movie exhibition items makes this place one of the most intriguing places I have been to in Wales!

you'll never get more for your money than here. I bet anything on it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Myself and my Mum stumbled upon The Tin Shed Experience and received a really pleasant welcome. A day out in Laugharne was made really special.

Very interesting exhibits by a couple who are genuinely passionate about their collection. As a fan of the 40's and kitchenalia I was really pleased to see a full working kitchen in the cottage built out back.

Also dog friendly which meant we didn't have to cut our visit short.

Well worth a visit and leave a big donation :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchay, Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fascinating way to while away a Sunday afternoon in Laugharne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Dropped in not knowing quite what to expect and found a charming welcome. This museum combines enthusiasm with a depth of knowledge about individual narratives from the past. Local characters combine with major world events.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Shed Experience also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Tin Shed Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Shed Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.