We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent alternative to tent camping in beautiful surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larkhill Tipis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmduad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larkhill Tipis
Cwmduad SA33 6AT , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent alternative to tent camping in beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Would like to say a huge thank you to Fran & Tony for a comfortable, memorable stay and experience in their wonderful Lavvu. The site is well placed for exploring Pembs, Ceredigion & Carmarthen. Situated in a stunning area with stunning panoramic views of surrounding area.

The children loved the various animals especially the turkeys! Excellent play area and facilities made for a welcome and much warmer change to traditional tent camping and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Despite grumpy weather we left feeling refreshed and relaxed and cannot wait to return. A magical experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After going the wrong way to get there as our trusted sat nav told us lol we arrived at around 1915. After being shown around we got to our yurt which was AMAZING! Not only was it cosy the fire had been lit for our arrival which on our wet and cold arrival was just great.
The views are amazing from the site and very quiet. Weather was not great but was ok for march! The sites facilities were clean and tidy and the compost toilet was a must to try just to say you have done it!
Only problem we found was that you could regulate the temputure of the fire so we were too hot or cold but who cares!
So our rating for our stay has to be EXCELLENT
and we will be back again very soon!
So if you are thinking of going then just do it you will not regret it.
Thanks guys.
Darren & Sarah Hill

Room Tip: Take your food with you as the nearest supermarket is 30mins away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I came to stay for a day and night with my girlfriend for my birthday. We camp a lot in summer and wanted to do something similar in winter. This looked a nice spot, and having never stayed in a yurt before we were quite excited.

Did it meet our expectations? Oh yes, and more besides!

We stayed in the Bentwood yurt which was a beautiful experience. Plenty of room, a lovely fire, and everything we needed.

I won't repeat what past reviewers have mentioned, but it was one of my best ever birthdays. The whole place had a nice relaxed feel to it. The grounds were lovely, with nice little wood carvings scattered around. It was just lovely to hang out there, albeit for a short time.

Though the fire did go out in the night, there were plenty of spare blankets to wrap up warm and cozy.

The friendly hosts really do supply you with all that you need. The only one small criticism was the 3 lamps in the room didn't really give off much light. Even when we borrowed 2 gas lamps from the log cabin it was still a little on the dark side. Having said that, who cares!

It's a place I would love to return to. Why would you possibly stay in a hotel room when such gorgeous places exist. Keep up the good work folks!

Room Tip: I imagine all the yurts and tipi's are pretty special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed in the mongolian ger in January and it was very comfortable and warm (we even slept with the door open one night as it was so warm!). The couple that run the site are very friendly and helpful, just genuinely nice people who offer as much help as you need without being intrusive. The facilities are excellent, and we really enjoyed our stay. It's not a hotel so don't expect luxury, but it is glamping! marvelous. A real little gem. The fire can be a bit smokey, but once you get the hang of it it's pretty straight forward.

Room Tip: All the "tents" are quite private with their own seating and cooking area not overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in the Alachign structure, which is a home made Canvas and Oak framed tent.
The alachign is set on an exposed hillside open to the welsh weather.
The welsh weather in January is cold, wet and windy and this structure had more draughts than a welsh brewery.
The fire constantly leaked smoke back into the structure due to the high winds and as a result it was impossible to keep the living space anywhere near warm.
Cutlery and utensiles supplied where dirty.
The location is quiet and peaceful and in the warmth of spring or summer the stay may have been pleasant enough but in typical winter weather the structure doesn't work and the path to the tent became a muddy bog.
There may be many things to recommend this site but the problem is in winter the problems outweigh the good points.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I booked a 2 night stay in the Mongolian Ger for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. Fran and Tony were amazing hosts, helping us from the word go. They have thought of everything to make the camp a truly unforgettable place and are both extremely friendly and welcoming. We had plenty of room in the Ger which can sleep up to four people. The wood burning stove kept us warm and cosy away from the October chill. We cooked over the stove (all the equipment was provided) and drank wine around the outside fire. We quickly relaxed and we didn't want to leave. I can't think of a better place to visit. It is relaxing, friendly and also very romantic, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have just come back from 3 nights at Larkhill and I desperately miss the place and the cosy fire. It is such a special place and the owners have made the place self sufficient. We stayed in the Tipi and it was very cold outside but the fire kept us all very warm and cosy inside. This is a place where you can go any time of the year and enjoy it. Our Tipi had everything we wanted including a gas cooker and comfortable beds. There is also a communal kitchen area too but we only really needed it for washing up. Our Tipi just looked like it does on the Larkhill website.

The couple who run the place are ever so lovely. We couldn't have asked for more, they know the are well so you can ask them for suggestions on places to visit. There are quite a few places to visit in the local area.

We travelled as a family of 2 adults and 2 kids and the Tipi was a very good comfortable size for us. I would go back if we ever got the chance to visit Wales again.

Room Tip: Choose the Tipi if you are travelling in winter. Its on a raised platform and easier to keep warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larkhill Tipis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkhill Tipis

Address: Cwmduad SA33 6AT , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Cwmduad
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Cwmduad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkhill Tipis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Larkhill Tipis to your Saves list