We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Davids Cross Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Davids Cross Hotel to your Saves list
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St Davids Cross Hotel | Cross Square, St. Davids SA62 6SP, Wales (Formerly Old Cross Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Old Cross from 2nd to 5th of July. This was our first time visit to St. Davids to see a friend of us. There are so many comments about the hotel needs updating. I was bit concerned about the quality of the accommodations.

It turned out the hotel is not too bad. Like any converted accommodation, there are certain limits to what you can do to the property. The owner has been updating the property, at least bathroom are quite new. You can tell they have been making effort to make the place looks nice. We were in Room no. 2 for the first night which is right above the kitchen. It was noisy but the hotel was full. They told us that if we wish to move the next day, they are happy to move us upstairs as they have a cancellation which was nice. We moved to No. 16 which is at the top floor facing the main square. The room is a lot bright and airy. The walls are thin like others have commented on, you can hear everything from the next door. My daughter had a bad cough all night not only kept us awake but also people next door. I felt terrible about it. My husband desperately needed a good night sleep for the last night as we have 6 hours drive back to London and decided to have a separate room for himself. He stayed in a room immediately below us. But he can still hear my daughter coughing during the night as if she was in the same room.

We only had breakfast at the hotel which was nice. We ate all out dinners at Mogan’s restaurant which is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The food there is fantastic but pricy, not child friendly

All in all, Old cross is a pleasant hotel with its own charm. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, next to the main square, you can walk to shops and Cathedral. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone who wants to stay for a few days in St. Davids.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
63
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

The location couldn't be faulted...right in the middle of the tiniest city in the UK, the beautiful St Davids. From the hotel you can walk to the pub (and I mean 'the'), the supermarket, the bus for the beach, the charming coffeehouse filled town, the lovely catherdral, any number of cliff paths and stunning Pembrokeshire locations. The room was spotless, the staff charming...but stuck in the 1970s style-wise...all swirly carpets, small non flat screen TV with only 4 channels, breakfast of tasteless coffee, sliced bread, packets of marmalade, packets of margarine, plastic orange juice, cheap bacon. We wouldn't have minded but it was more expensive than staying in a big city, certainly more than we ever pay in London, Paris or Edinburgh. But it was clean and they were nice and I feel a bit mean to whinge...but the world has moved on and for that price we expect higher standards, better 'stuff'. But St Davids is always expensive...the Volvo and Waitrose and Notting Hill brigade keep the prices up. Pity they do not also raise the standards.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

On this trip, I stayed for 5 days mid-June 2009. Always a warm welcome, great breakfasts and wonderful service.
The location is excellent in the small city of St. David's but so close to history, castles & beaches.
Roger.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel is the perfect location if you want to visit St Davids and the surrounding area. Just a 10-15 minute walk takes you to the coastal path with superb views of the sea. At the front of the hotel is an attractive beer garden with tables/chairs on grass with lots of shrubs and flowers, a perfect place for a welcome drink at the end of a days walking and people watching. The front of the hotel is attractive and has character. There is plenty of parking for residents. Pity about the decour inside - we would describe it as souless and perhaps rather bland however very clean and fresh. The bar food was tasty and the service good. We considered the restaurant too expensive and noticed only a couple of tables in use. The breakfast very tasty and ample. The staff very helpful and polite. Our room, Number 2, was over the kitchen. We were woken at 7am by the noise and vibration from the kitchen expelair fans. We commented to reception, but as the hotel was full we were unable to change our room. The second night we slept with ear plugs. The fan was switched off at 10pm but we could hear the industrial hum from the fridges. The hotel offered us and we accepted a small reduction in price for our stay after we complained. They were aware of the problem and had previously attempted to rectify the vibration. We opted for this hotel on the basis that it allowed us to take our dog, and all other accomodation in the area which allowed dogs were fully booked. We would recommend this hotel for the location and parking, but not room 2.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ynysddu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Hello we have just spent a nights b/b with you and just wanted to say how
much we enjoyed our stay, the room was delightful and it was nice to received a warm welcome I am sure we will be seeing you again in the near
future.
Many Regards
Keith & Betty

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed 2 nights in April 2008, what a lovely place! I had a double room to myself, a gorgeous bathroom with an enormous radiator and the nice thing was that I could control the radiators myself. The breakfasts were good as were the evening meals. I had the local beef and lamb plus puddings and wine. Superb. In fact, this year my daughter is going to accompany me for 5 nights in September. It was the first time I had visited Pembrokeshire so it will be lovely to return. Can't understand some of the negative reviews, believe me I have stayed in places that were really bad, but I can't find anything bad to say about this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Just returned from a visit to The Old Cross Hotel. Food is excellent and we have never stayed anywhere with such a plentiful supply of hot water. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms apparently are being upgraded and we have booked again for November 09.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Davids Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Davids Cross Hotel

Address: St Davids Cross Hotel | Cross Square, St. Davids SA62 6SP, Wales (Formerly Old Cross Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Davids Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Cross St Davids
Hotel Old Cross
St. Davids Cross Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Davids Cross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.