We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Davids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramsey House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lower Moor, St. Davids SA62 6RP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 St. Davids B&B and Inns
Cardiff
1 review
“A perfect retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights during half term, wanting a quiet get away. Suzanne and Shaun were perfect hosts, we had a very warm welcome and had attentive service right through the stay. Shaun is a superb chef and cooked up a delicious breakfast. He made some great recommendations for good food, as we missed the days they cooked dinner at the guest house. (Cwtch in St Davids and Cambrian gastro pub in Solva). They also helped us plan our day with a 9 mile coastal walk and things to see in St David's as it was our first visit. Comfy accommodation, extra special touches, fabulous location (walkable distance to St David's centre and the coast). We are definitely going to book again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
201
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent two nights at Ramsey House in October 2013. It was truly a wonderful experience. The welcome is genuine and friendly, the hosts are extremely accommodating and helpful, and the rooms are very comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast. of course, was delicious. Saint David's is a lovely little town, the cathedral and Bishops Palace were beautiful...and the icing on the cake was an amazing hike along the Pembrokeshire Wales Path.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Suzanne and Shaun are excellent hosts. They greeted us at the door both on arrival and departure. We were 4000 miles from home and 7 days into a 3-week vacation. Their greeting and care was exactly what we needed. We truly felt like their guests and not someone who booked a reservation with strangers! This couple thinks of everything including wonderful bath products and freshly-laundered robes, excellent advice for sights to see and Shaun's impeccable breakfast. Another surprise were the delightful ducks, Maggie and her friends entertained us during our breakfasts with their backyard antics. WiFi and parking were icing on the cake. Shaun and Suzanne think of everything and do everything while you are staying with them. They are 4000 miles from us but we are already planning our next trip to stay with Suzanne and Shaun (Maggie & Co., too)!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aquamarine Room which had wonderful views across fields. On a clear day we could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Ramsey House for the third time last week, this time staying for 7 nights. As before, it was easily the best hotel or B&B we have ever stayed in. Shaun and Suzanne think of everything... Nothing is too much trouble for them. Great rooms, food, welcome and cordiality, location... Ducks in the garden, their own free-range chickens, Shaun's home baked bread... sea view, moor walk, cove down the road - what more can anyone want? We just cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: all room great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights just for a short break. We used Trip Advisor to search for bed and breakfast accommodation and are happy to say that the reviews are spot on! Suzanne and Shaun are truly welcoming hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. The room we stayed in "magenta" was furnished exquisitely with high end touches which make all the difference sometimes. The whole guest areas were immaculate like a show home, but comfortable like your living room, I almost found myself putting my feet up on the sofa!
Breakfast is lovely, plentiful and excellently cooked, sets you up for the whole day....We didn't get to try Shaun's evening meals but would imagine they are as fantastic as said.
To see the ducks playing whilst having breakfast is lovely and just adds to the whole experience.
We would not hesitate to recommend Ramsey House to anyone looking for relaxing break in luxury surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful stay that included impeccable service from the owners, great meals both breakfast and dinner, as well as a lovely room - fully appointed with everything you need to relax and feel comfortable.

If you enjoy hiking and the beauty of whales, and want to eat well and be comfortable at night this is Ramsey house is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Ramsey House in 2010 and really enjoyed it. We decided to return for a weeks stay in September. Some say you should never go back but we were extremely glad we did. Shaun and Suzanne are very welcoming and Ramsey House very comfortable.
We had two evening meals. Shaun is an amazing chef. Fine dining at it.s best. Both Shaun and Suzanne knowledgable about local area and happy to share their knowledge.
Loved the ducks and enjoyed watching them in the garden while enjoying Shaun's fab breakfast.
Ramsey house a five minute walk into centre and very quiet. We hope to have a return visit to this great guest house. Would recommend this guest house with confidence to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey House

Address: Lower Moor, St. Davids SA62 6RP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramsey House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ramsey House, in the heart of Pembrokeshire.Ramsey House offers you the ideal combination of professional hotel management and the warmth of a luxury 5 star family-run boutique bed and breakfast in both accommodation and fine dining, to the highest standards.Owners Shaun and Suzanne Ellison are proud of their very special guest-house. All rooms and bathrooms at Ramsey House have been refurbished to a luxury boutique style, and we look forward to welcoming you to our new contemporary accommodation. We have many years experience in the hospitality business and pride ourselves in combining this expertise with a warm and family ambience for your stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramsey House St. Davids, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramsey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ramsey House to your Saves list