We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your a dog lover, you can eat here!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bishops

The Bishops
22-23 Cross Square, St. Davids SA62 6SL, Wales
01437 720422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in St. Davids
Cuisines: Seafood, Bistro, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A village pub/restaurant, close to the Cathedral, with large outdoor area, on the cross square in St Davids. Balanced menu to suit the whole family and great beers too! Dogs allowed.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If your a dog lover, you can eat here!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

On a recent visit to the picturesque St David's in Wales , being around lunch time we were looking for a good pub lunch. Seeing that one of the old pubs & had been refurbished on the outside & renamed "The Bishops", we thought we would give it a try. To our dismay, there must have been about 7 or 8 dogs fusing around with their respective owners in the restaurant area. The smell of dogs was over powering, to such an extent that we turned round & walked out. My advise to the Management of The Bishops would keep the dogs out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    119
    32
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We popped into The Bishop for a quick drink having been hiking along the coast. Drink prices were reasonable and there were board games around which was a nice touch. I think the music was too loud though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely homely place, right in the heart of St Davids, I liked the olde wordly charm. Lovely log burner in cold weather, I ordered the speciality burger, and it was very nice, it was accompanied with chips, but no garnishes at all , a side salad would have nade such a difference to presentation, as it was the plate looked badly presented, this wasnt a cheap meal at over £11.50 for burger and chips. So loses points .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a great place to have a meal when visiting St Davids, likely to be shared with the locals. The menu has a broad range of options, prepared with skill and guaranteed to remove hunger. The setting is a cosy, authentic hotel in a Welsh village. Grab one of the board games - Scrabble was never more fun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tradition and excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The Bishops is in the centre of St Davids and, when I have visited seems to be one of the centres of city life ( the smallest city in the UK)!! The staff could not have done more to extend a friendly welcome, the drinks were varied, some local and well priced. The food was the best I have had in a pub for a long time, the portions exceptionally generous, well presented and delicious!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bishops also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
Porthgain, Pembrokeshire
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to The Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bishops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.