We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Davids Cathedral

St. Davids Cathedral
The Close, St. Davids SA62 6RH , Wales
01437 720199/720204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Utterly Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

What a treasure, we drove from Saundersfoot to St Davids not knowing quite what to expect. We parked below the cathedral, following the signs. Parking was very cheap! The cost to go into the cathedral was free but we filled in the gift aid envelope and popped some folding stuff in, it really is beautiful, full of history and interest. It's a bit if a hike up to the village but worth it even for the views. Highly recommend especially on a sunny day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    152
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to worship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Cathedral of St David is a beautiful please to worship. A must visit is the restored Shrine of St David. Try and visit for prayers at the Shrine every Friday at 12.00 hrs. The Cathedral choir is excellent and make both the sung Mass and Evensong a special treat. The Dean and The Canon in Residence always make you very welcomed. Come and enjoyed this wonderful church.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil place with a real sense of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We made a short visit here - having visited several times in the past - and was not disappointed.
The Cathedral is so peaceful tucked away in the valley with a real sense of the spiritual history of the building.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A sense of living history in the English Church. Explore it all and see things from the 7th to 21st century

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic and well worth a visit we have done each year for the last 10 years. This year we also saw the bishops grounds where you pay to look around and it was well worth £ 3.00. We will continue to visit I hope.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Davids Cathedral also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
Stackpole, Pembroke
Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to St. Davids Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Davids Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.