We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grove Hotel

Grove Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grove Hotel to your Saves list
Grove Hotel
High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Llanelli
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having planned a small break for a weekend we settled on the Grove and booked online very easily. We selected a suite as it wasn't much more than a double pricewise and think this was a good choice as the room was very spacious with a nice sofa to lounge on in front of a big screen TV (handy for the 6 nations rugby). The room also had lounging chairs by the windows to read from and a lovely spacious wooden super king size bed. The en suite bath and shower room was clean and the towels smelled fresh. Extra pillows and quilt were available in the wardrobe. The room had some minor cosmetic flaws but generally was very clean and decorated tastefully. Overall the hotel was a very high standard. I would have no problem recommending it and certainly will return. Nice warm room too. The breakfast was very good with a large selection you were able to mix and match from the menu and a wide choice on the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
27
94
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just spent two nights in this hotel we booked through booking.com. Not many places open in this small village this time of year. Plenty of parking. Clean rooms not large. Hotel is tired in places. Window frames paint coming off. They seem to do half a job which shows other parts up which let's them down. Breakfast was nice. Rooms were nice and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location of the Grove is great and I would say it is a fine place to stay for families. They provided a travel cot in our room and they were amenable to having children in the dining room. The decor is average and the bathroom was just standard and the towels a bit threadbare, though I appreciate the temperature control on the shower to ensure delicate baby skin doesn't get scalded. The staff were polite but didn't go out of their way to be helpful, e.g. we mistakenly left a kid's plastic plate at the breakfast table, though they set it aside for us they didn't think to wash it for us. I also found the bed quite uncomfortable though I will say the layout of suite we had was very good and spacious. I think this place could be great with just a bit of work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Looe, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were spending a cottage holiday near Saundersfoot & decided to go to St David's for the day, but as the weather was so terrible we decided to stop at this lovely hotel for lunch.
The decor was really nice, interesting layout with individual corners set with different size tables, wonderful for large or small parties. We ate in the conservatory which had orchids all around the windows, colors matching the easy chairs around the room for customers to have an aperitif, or coffee after the meal.
The service was excellent & waitresses very friendly. We had haddock fillets, chunky chips, mushy peas with homemade tartare sauce......superb. The menu was very good, but we were too full for puddings, so just had coffee which was excellent. A great find on a very wet & windy Wednesday!

Room Tip: Please ignore the last 3 Ratings above. Tapped by mistake and did not apply as we only had lunch &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed one night with my honey at the Grove in St Davids, Wales in room one which was considered a suite. The room was nicely laid-out with a queen bed, sofa, 42” HD TV, spacious bathroom with tub/shower, and a bit of extra room to stretch. Breakfast is included in the rate and the staff does a nice job preparing a custom hot meal. St Davids is off the beaten path and there are not lots of lodging options.

The town is worth a visit because of St Davids Cathedral and Palace. It was hard to believe there are structures of this magnitude in this small town. The 160 mile drive from St Davids to Colwyn Bay takes four plus hours and shows off much of the varied scenery in Wales.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Had three nights here and did enjoy our stay.
Unfortunately there is a but! This is a beautiful building and should be shown off in the right light, but certain areas were, what seemed to be untouched. It was a bit of a disapointment for us as we know its chained owned, expecting a high level of professional decor and finishing. By no means did this spoil our stay, we were honestly hardly in the hotel as the surrounding area is to picturesque to simply bypass! If your a walker, biker or camper st davids is definitly a one to add to the bucket list!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I had a Sunday lunch which we both enjoyed but I felt was a bit pricey. Later in the week we called for a lunch and my wife's chicken was inedible. so I complained, only to be told we are sorry. We had paid £11.05 and all my wife had eaten was some mashed potato.

If you can't eat the food they should offer you an alternative, not just say sorry and expect you to pay for it.

We will not be going back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Hotel

Address: High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel St. Davids, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.