We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mariners

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mariners to your Saves list
Hotel Mariners
Mariners Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2DU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Traditional and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Easy enough to find, following the one-way system in the town. Close to shops. Free car park with sufficient spaces. Smart entrance, looks like it has been recently decorated. Welcoming reception and easy to check-in. There is no lift so up lots of stairs to our room - glad my suitcase was a small one!
The room was large with a good sized bed and a large sofa that looked like it was a convertible to bed. The hairdryer was near a mirror - sounds silly but some hotels think we can dry hair without looking! Bathroom was spacious with a good overhead shower and very clean. 2 pairs of towels but no bath mat....found that strange but forgot to ask while we were there so don't know if that's usual or an oversight!
Plenty of storage space and one thing made me very happy - a teapot!
Couldn't get wifi in the room, but the hotel handbook explained where reception is good.
Had a drink in the bar, very welcoming and reasonable prices.
Breakfast was good, served until 9.30. Buffet contained yoghurt, some cereals, fruit and juices. Cooked options included porridge. Good quality bacon, good eggs etc all freshly cooked and served on warm plates.
Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    12
    12
    4
See reviews for
10
17
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Lovely old style type hotel... Staff very welcoming and helpful at all times when needed... I had a Executive Single (very large double) at single occupancy on second floor (No37) great room... Spacious on-suite... Rooms clean and to a high standard..... Wifi in all areas.... Breakfast was very good with large portions and plenty of selection... Busy hotel in evenings... Good safe carpark..... Not for anybody looking for an ultra modern hotel... This is one of great character and well situated for the town of Haverfordwest... Enjoyed my stay of 5 nights and will go back again...

Room Tip: Try for Room 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ive lived locally for over 50 years and I dont know why but this was my first visit to the Mariners, I always heard good things about this place so I took my wife here for her birthday and was pleasantly supprised not only with what was on offer but the very reasonable costs and ambience as well, I dont know what the previous reviews were on about when they say its over priced, if go seven miles up the A40 towards Fishguard theres a hotel there if you want to know what overpricing is, will definitley come here again, a must when in Haverfordwest

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

On arrival the room was spacious , wanted to take a shower which was a dribble , so headed for the bath only to find the previous occupants pubic hair in the bath . Central heating pipe groaning for ages . The password for the Wi Fi doesn't work . Rang reception , no answer , went down ,no one about . Then found blood stains on the bedding . Stayed for one night , cost £98 , would not recommend to any one .I had to leave at 7.30am and breakfast didn't start til 7.30 so no breakfast and no discount !!!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here December for a nearby friend's wedding. The first room we were offered was terribly dated (it looked nothing like any photos from the website), the floor was sloped towards the bathroom, which had a door that didn't close or lock. The bin still had an empty beer can from the previous occupant, and the state of the bed linen was shocking.

We looked online and saw a 4 star available nearby for £20 less per night than this was charging, so we approached reception and they offered to move us to a more modern room, which looked more like the website photos.

It was serviceable, but the taps were loose, and the cold tap only served luke-warm water. We had no turn-down service despite being there for 2 nights, and the room went from tolerable to red hot overnight, with no option to reduce the temperature. That, combined with the noise from other guests travelling through the thin walls and the waste delivery happening at 5am outside our single-glazed window meant that we didn't sleep well at all.

Friends that were also attending the wedding ordered a Family Room, as they had a travel cot for their young daughter, but the room they were allocated wasn't big enough for their bed, let alone a travel cot. They too got moved to a modern room, with enough room, but it was a bad experience for both parties as a first impression.

On the positive side, the food is fresh and hand-made, and the breakfast is plentiful and tasty enough.

On checking out, we went to pay the bill, which the wedding party had arrange to be at a reduced rate of £80 per night. They had no record of this, so charged us £90 per night (still cheaper than the advertised rate), but when we told them about our stay, and an argument with the owner ensued, they eventually agreed to the price of £70 per night. It was still expensive for the service and room we received, considering we could have stayed at a nearby 4* hotel for the same price.

Room Tip: Request a modern room, and one that faces the main road or front car park, as the rear carpark has w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Mariners on both Business and pleasure since 2005 . The rooms are very comfortable and clean , the staff very friendly and the Bar food is very good ( no identical menus like you see in some well know chains). The breakfasts are excellent.
This is an old coaching Inn that has loads of atmosphere and is centrally located for exploring Pembrokeshire.

Room Tip: I like the 40s
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The rooms were HUGE. Thats the first thing we noticed when we checked in. The reception staff was very helpful while we checked in and also recommended places we could visit on our stroll around town in the evening. The restaurant is very good and we had a wonderful dinner. It was a drag having to carry the bags to the rooms as there are no elevators!! But overall a very clean, comfortable, cheerful place. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariners

Address: Mariners Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, situated walking distance to Haverfordwest Town Center. Free parking on site for Patrons use only, can accommodate a coach in the rear car park. Lunches and Evening Meal served in the Bar,and Guest Ales are available. Function bookings available in the Restaurant. Free wifi to our customers. Family rooms are also available. Non residents are also welcome to dine or just have a driink/ coffee at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Mariners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Haverfordwest
Hotel Mariners Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mariners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.